Bath Time Cleanse

1 Comment


I read in a Fiona Horne book a while back that she likes to have cleansing baths before major rituals, which is true for most pagans. It’s a time to not only cleanse the body, but view your body as the sacred temple ready for charging and magickal use. I like to think of it as a birds cage, it’s dirty until you clean it and store a life in it. Every so often you give the bird a chance to be free, whilst you clean out his/her home. So in a way, when I say that Buddha, Anubis and other Gods/Goddesses are part of you, I mean that they are the little bird you have to care for and love. What better way to love the Gods than to start with yourself, and love who you are on the inside as well as the outside.

I like to have a shower before banishing rituals, and a nice relaxing bath afterwards. For rituals, major spells and meditations I have a lush bath. One infusion and incense I like to use is rosemary, bay and marjoram. I’m crazy about marjoram and juniper so they’ll pop up a lot! So below I’ve listed my fave herbs, all for their own personal magickal and medicinal qualities, just play around with them, though cinnamon, frankincense and myrhh can irritate the skin, so if you are pregnant or have sensitive skin stay away until baby has come =]

 

Bath infusions and herbal baths

I like to sprinkle in fresh and dried herbs and flowers, but that depends on the ritual I intend to do. I only ever use fresh flower petals for rituals of purification/cleansing, path working/contact rituals or rituals to do with self love and healing.

Bath Infusion 23#

10-20 fresh bay leaves

1 and a 1/2 teaspoon of rosemary

1 teaspoon of marjoram

 

Infuse marjoram and rosemary with half of the bay leaves, and when ready slighty crush the remaining leaves and throw them into the bath saying:

‘I cleanse this water for purification of the mind, body and soul’

Pour in the infusion, get nekkid and relax yourself. Imagine and feel the warm/hot water cleansing the skin and slowly cleansing your inner temple. When you feel completely cleansed repeat the following until you feel calm but ready for a night of rituals ahead:

‘I banish all negativity from my body, mind and soul. [*So mote it be!]’

 

Bath Infusion 17# [very old]

1/2 teaspoon frankincense

1 tablespoon sage

1 tablespoon of copal

1 tablespoon of lavender

 

using the same method above. except use copal as the herb you throw into the bath before the infusion.

 

I like to use candles as times, due to my love of fire magick, and when I do i use black and white candles as they both symbolise clarity, spirituality and purity in nature.

 

So I did two for you.. .my intention was originally 5 but I’m tired and need to go off and prepare for tonight’s meditation. Darn!

Enjoy x

* So mote it be is optional, as you may just want to say it at the end of repetition or not say it at all.

Author: Sy Andrews

Sy Andrews aka Sylvia Beckett Davidson, is a British writer, blogger, esoteric darling and Youtube vlogger. English literature graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter (@SyBAndrews), Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, Goodreads (Sylvia Beckett Davidson), and Pinterest.

One thought on “Bath Time Cleanse

  1. Pingback: Copal | Find Me A Cure

Leave a comment