Sy Calaelen

Health Benefits of Liber Resh vel Helios

5 Comments


20130824-090333.jpg

I know how that sounds – health? Really? Silly Sy. No need to be disappointed, but I’ve been thinking about a theory around many of the rituals I’ve been practicing. I guess you can call this short (and probably meaningless) post another treatise on why I love ceremonial magick.

When I first started practising the Four Adorations (a time loose variation of the full Resh) I kept noting how I felt warm and fuzzy. The importance of noting down little things that may seem unnecessary can often build up a picture of peace or change within the mindset of the person experiencing these changes. I would write the odd notes at the start of my daily posts saying something like, “Feel great! Feel more alert and aware of things around me – almost like the end meditations after Kundalini practice.” Often I would note what I had to eat or drink just before or after the Resh assuming my intake may have contributed to my sudden alertness and inspirational boost. For some reason, similar to performing the LBRP, I just felt amazing.

When I started performing Resh properly, according to the solar time I started to work out a plan for my days off and days I would spend at work. They were only an outline that I expected to improve over time once I started university properly. So far they have worked perfectly! Not only have my visualisation skills improved, and my sensitivity to the slightest increase or decrease to energies within me and around me been fine tuned, but I feel an even more positive ā€“ [“positive” being the wrong word… I mean something else, but cannot think what?] ā€“ connection between me and the Universe as a whole – me, finally embarking on my journey with Malkuth. Maybe I’m wrong? I’m not sure, but I feel awake for sure. I am sure of one thing, yoga and physical rituals push blood to places it rarely sees on a daily basis. This helps oxygen reach those nooks and crannies, which adds to the feeling of weightlessness and accomplishment at the end of each hourly workout or session. Obviously Resh does not take a bloody hour, but you get my drift. You are exercising your mind (visualisation) and your body (vibration, speaking and the signs), which in turn gets oxygen flowing and goes full loop by sending more oxygen to the muscle and brain. It’s beautiful. I have been able to note the effects when I tried to put myself under a weeks worth of not practicing. By day 5 I was ready to give up and start again as I felt awful, muggy and just generally off. Everything was a dull grey and I just wanted to lay down all the time. Ew.

I’m automatically up just before the morning Resh, and when the other times approach it’s as if my body just sends a load of blood rushing around my body, to I guess wake myself up in preparation of performing. I have felt inspired to really sort my body out again over the last few months, and Resh and the LBRP with a dash of meditation, dance, yoga and a change in diet have all helped me. I wasn’t lying when I said Thelemites’ are sexy creatures.

Either later on, or tomorrow I’ll post up my regimen, plus a small breakdown of my current work out. As for my diet, I went Vegan for a fortnight to flush/detox my body in order to “start again”. I’m just your average misunderstood vegetarian – love animals but I’m not a fanatic carnivore hater, I love leather and Dr Martens to much – I just don’t eat meat because it tastes icky, that’s all.

That’s all for now, in LVX 93s Peaches!

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

5 thoughts on “Health Benefits of Liber Resh vel Helios

  1. Crowley also recommends the Gayatri mantram in Book 4.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gayatri_Mantra
    http://www.lashtal.com/forum/index.php?topic=5556.0
    http://hermetic.com/crowley/book-4/aba1.html

    The very least the regular performance of this rite will do is bring you into greater sympathy with the cycles of the earth, sun, and moon; which can’t be a bad thing. šŸ™‚

  2. 93 I feel the same. There is a connection with health. It’s basically Reiki, circulating universal energy to fill and charge the body. Aligning the energies of the microcosm with that of the macrocosm creates a perfect balance for one to do their true will. 93

    • 93 I agree also with what yall have to say! I have also noticed a increased amount of health since I have been doing Resh consistently, combined with meditation, saying will at meals, and other other practices such as daily journaling. I also feel more attuned to the sun, moon, and stars. I have also noticed my diet has also improved to the point that I no longer eat meat except for fish and seafood. I also find Liber resh to be invigorating. Thanks all 93/93

      • After almost 4/5 years, it’s still something I do, and have edited for my own occult needs. I just love it! So simple, so fresh, so easy. You can test yourself and not practice it for a month, you will remember it all! Go even longer, and it will never leave you. Glad you have carved something unique! That’s actually given me an idea…. 93s!

  3. Pingback: Thelemic Culture Update: August & September 2013 | 2nd Century Thelema

Leave a Reply

