Sy Calaelen

Shakespearean Quotes for Any Situation

1 Comment


20130714-222320.jpg

Most of these quotes are from Hamlet, Shakespeare’s longest plays, but as with most of Shakespearean language you can fit any if not all quotations into daily life. The bard gave us such phrases as “I will not budge an inch” (Taming of the Shrew), “This is the short and the long of it,” (The Merry Wives of Windsor) or “If music be the food of love, play on!” (Twelfth Night).

I found this on @HollowCrownFans Tumblr page. A page dedicated to anything Shakespearean, especially the production of the BBC’s ‘Hollow Crown’. Check them out! Richard III, Henry IV part 1 & 2 and Henry V. AMAZING!!

Enjoy!

***

A dramatic Shakespearean response to every situation ~

When something bad happens: True is it that we have seen better days.

When something REALLY bad happens: O woe! O woeful, woeful, woeful day! Most lamentable day. Most woeful day That ever, ever I did yet behold! O day, O day, O day! O hateful day! Never was seen so black a day as this.O woeful day! O woeful day!

When people say that something is wrong because the Bible says so: The Devil can cite scripture for his purpose.

When my girlfriend abandons me for food: FRAILTY, THY NAME IS WOMAN!

When someone doesn’t thank me for holding the door open for them: BLOW, BLOW, BLOW, THOU WINTER WIND! THOU ART NOT SO UNKIND AS MAN’S INGRATITUDE!

When I burn something while cooking: MY CAKE IS DOUGH!

When human stupidity frustrates me: LORD, WHAT FOOLS THESE MORTALS BE!

When someone says I’m going to hell for my sins: NYMPH, IN THY ORISONS BE ALL MY SINS REMEMBER’D.

When I’m broke: My pride fell with my fortunes

When someone turns the light on after a period of darkness and blinding light ensues: OH, SHE DOTH TEACH THE TORCHES TO BURN BRIGHT!

When someone disagrees with me: THERE ARE MORE THINGS IN HEAVEN AND EARTH, HORATIO, THEN ARE DREAMT OF IN YOUR PHILOSOPHY.

When I argue with my girlfriend: The course of true love never did run smooth.

When I’m embarrassed: MUST I HOLD A CANDLE TO MY SHAMES?!
Someone says “Good Night”: Good Night, Good night! Parting is such sweet sorrow, that I shall say good night till it be morrow.

Hahaha!!

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “Shakespearean Quotes for Any Situation

  1. Reblogged this on Metsahauka's Blog and commented:
    I found this so enjoyable on a otherwise less-than-stellar day, and couldn’t resist sharing with you all!

Leave a Reply

