Sy Calaelen

The One Year Manual | Israel Regardie

4 Comments


‘The One Year Manual – Twelve Steps to Spiritual Enlightenment’

Published: 1976

1st Edition: Weiser pub. 1981 (my copy 1992 third printing)

One Year Manual

One Year Manual

This book opened me up to the many ways that would keep me focused on my journey. One part I loved most were the Four Adorations, a tiny variant of Liber Resh, without the strict time keeping which is perfect for me as a newbie. The adorations themselves have only this week been part of my weekly regime. Many of the exercises included in the book are easy to learn, once practiced they are also very quick. Each lesson is supposed to take a month each, as you develop through the year. Considering how quickly I read this book (two hours) I can really see it as a top recommendation to anyone who needs a fresh take at some of the meditations required of any magickal practitioner and Thelemite. I have only just got my hands on this book, even though I was recommended it quite a few months back, and it is an amazing companion to building a regime to follow for a year.

The development side will be incredible; especially the discipline and structure. The Four Adorations are fast becoming a way of life for me. The fluidity of the language is easy to grasp, and really brings a smile to your face, or at least it did me. Regardie really paid a lot of attention to detail with the upmost care and love. In the beginning of the book Regardie details the feelings and troubles he had when he wrote the manuscript in the first place, and I found that quite moving. The One Year Manual is a small and concise book with a lot of punch.

My rating: ★★★★★

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

4 thoughts on “The One Year Manual | Israel Regardie

  1. Pingback: The Tree of Life | Israel Regardie |

  2. Thank you Sy, I am looking adding this one to my bookshelf. I would like to know what were some of the extericse further in the book. I know, i the beginning, there are exercise about breathing and sense your body but what else does he goes into?

  3. Pingback: Regardie’s Four Adorations | My Regimen |

Leave a Reply

