Sy Calaelen

To Address the Issue of ‘Idiots Guide’

6 Comments


Sorry if you got my pun wrong and thought I was bashing you; I was merely stating one of the issues magickal folks have when assuming magick is a quick fix for everything, when it isn’t. As people know, as they’ve gotten to know me, I use puns a lot, and I like to show people that using magick should be a last resort. That is my opinion alone (especially in this day and age, having an opinion on the internet is a massive no, no!)

Below I have watered down that resolution so others can understand what I was trying to say:

“3) Sort my written books; now that I have come out as a Thelemite, my manuscripts will need to be updated before I consider sending them to publishers.

As you know, I’m someone who feels that idiots need guidance. Smart people need a refresher, and I’m not going to stand here knowing I could have changed something and didn’t.”

English: I get tons of emails almost every hour asking, “How do I start working with demons? I’ve been practising for a long time! 2 whole years!” And “I have a friend who I really like, and I want them to be my boyfriend/girlfriend. Can you do me a love spell so they’ll love me?” Or worse, “I know you have been a witch for more than a decade, but I need you to show me how to do magick.”

I don’t do spells for people, ever, unless you are a friend. As much as I should ignore these people, I can’t help but think that one day they wind up going mad because they abused magick. At the same time a lot of people practice magick without understanding the very basics. Where does magick come from? What are symbols? What makes the sabbats personal to you? Usually the answers I get back are “I dunno?” See my predicament?

The books I have been working on for the past few years are personal, but they work ethics, theory and spellcraft together. That way, after a few months, not only will you be able to happily practice magick without too many faults, but you’ll be on a level of understanding that would run deep. You’ll make your magick more personal. Most importantly, you’ll be able to ask questions and know how to answer them yourselves, or at least you’ll be confident enough to know how to apply magick efficiently. My books are like ‘An Idiots Guide’, or ‘From Square One’. A very small number of people have already written to say I called them idiots when in fact I hadn’t. I’m just an over the top caring person, but from now on, I won’t be unless its on a personal basis.

There is so much about magick out there, and sadly it can be overwhelming for some so I want to help those folks. Others just ignore what’s there, and that is damaging to the pagan community. Can’t win them all I guess.

—–

Again, sorry. I often make the mistake that people understand me, considering so many of my friends and friends to be do. I’m a funny nut case who wants people to have a good time without causing harm, whether they realise or not. (Thinking about it, that’s another reason why I like Crowley, we’re both intelligent social outsiders.)

Blessed Be, 93s and Boo, x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

6 thoughts on “To Address the Issue of ‘Idiots Guide’

  1. Hmmm… methinks AL II:17

    Hear me, ye people of sighing!
    The sorrows of pain and regret
    Are left to the dead and the dying,
    The folk that not know me as yet.

    …et al.

    93s

  2. “I use Magick as a last resort”, sound like my “I use Vim and Ajax” on my cooker. Every day is magic. Every magick makes today.

  3. As a first time visitor to your blog, I’d just like to say – while I know this was more like a “Personal Author Update/Clarification” I really enjoyed it. You reminded me of myself. I love “Puns” if I can make one, quote a song or movie I love – I will. Sometimes I write the titles of my topics that way as clever reference to something. But I understand the hows and whys of why you would write your books the way you do, I would do the same. I haven’t written a book yet on Magick, the Occult or anything else – yet – but I plan to someday and most likely in the same format you described.

    Thank you for sharing!
    P.S. Found this post of yours because I was writing a topic on my blog about “When Do Magickal Tools Become Moot?”. šŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: When Do Tools Become Moot? « The Musings of Lady Gwendolynn

Leave a Reply

