Sy Calaelen

My Lesser Banishing of the Pentagram Ritual [video]

5 Comments


Hopefully, this will make sense =]

This is my interpretation alone, from my practices.

Sy’s Thelema Bits | LBRP Breakdown

93/93, x x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

5 thoughts on “My Lesser Banishing of the Pentagram Ritual [video]

  1. Hi Sy,

    Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law.

    I’ll assume you saw the note I left you regarding commonly referring to the L.B.R.P. as “le-burp” in your YouTube comments. Since you don’t know me from אדם, please let me stress that any recommendations I give you are just that, recommendations or suggestions. Do with them as you Will. I don’t know how much information I may have for you, but if it should become tiresome or a nuisance, please don’t hesitate to ask me to cease. I will cheerfully do so without taking offense.

    I’m going to go back through your video and make notes as I’m watching and try to give you some of the same information I try to give to other people in person when they’re learning this ritual.

    Right off the bat though, I wanted to commend you for noticing the Hebrew “v”, veyt, in many pronunciations. However, the “b” is not automatically a “v”. Properly בּ (with the dagesh – dot in the middle) is a beyt (“b”), but without, ב, it is a veyt (“v”). However, commonly the pronunciation marks, vowel signs, etc. are not used in most writing except in dictionaries, textbooks and some other similar documents. Very seldom will you ever find them in hermetic, kabbalistic or magickal documents. If you get a little way into Kabbalah, you will find ב is referred to as one of the seven “double letters”; but that’s another beastie entirely (and it can make your head spin! 😉 ).

    Your enthusiasm and excitement about this material is a pleasure to witness. I have a Brother locally who has a similar response to Thelema and ceremonial magick.

    First off, let’s note that the L.B.R.P. is NOT a Thelemic ritual. It first came to the awareness of the masses by way of the original Golden Dawn, of which Crowley was an initiate. If you are interested in a purely Thelemic variant to L.B.R.P., look into the Star Ruby. The Star Ruby is also more of a pure banishing, whereas the L.B.R.P. is very much a simultaneous banishing and invocation. In my opinion, it creates a wonderful space for day to day life, whereas the Star Ruby is a little too sterile for daily use, to me.

    The L.B.R.P. origins may be traced to an ancient Hebrew night-time prayer, and woven throughout are precious threads of insight and wisdom. Uncle Al is known to have said of it: “Those who regard this ritual as a mere device to invoke or banish spirits, are unworthy to possess it. Properly understood, it is the Medicine of Metals and the Stone of the Wise.”, in the footnotes of “The Palace of the World”.

    Before I go further, I highly recommend to you Donald Michael Craig’s, “Modern Magick” as a beginning primmer for Ceremonial Magick. Though I may not completely agree with everything of his, I must confess it is an excellent starting point, and provides simple instructions with some great insights for anyone new to Ceremonial Magic. (Please don’t confuse Thelema for Ceremonial Magic. Though Thelema is heavily biased toward Ceremonial Magic as a method for evolution of the modern student of enlightenment in the western world, it is not its only method. Thelema certainly has its own flavor of the processes, but Thelema is, in and of itself, a religious philosophy of Freedom, independent from its methods of attainment.) Another book, which provides foundational information for any modern ceremonial magickian is Israel Regardies’s, “The Golden Dawn”. This is one many of us refer to as “the yellow pages”; our first source information.

    Now, moving on to your exercise…
    The Kabbalistic Cross may be better thought of as a way of centering oneself in their energy, mind and the universe. For charging-up, you may want to look into the middle pillar ritual and Liber Resh vel Helios. Crowley suggests that in performing this ritual one is standing at the intersection of the paths of samekh (ס)
    and pe (פ). That is to say; at the crossroads between Tiphareth & Yesod, and Netzach & Hod upon the Tree of Life. By taking a few long deep breaths before you begin, it gives you an opportunity to expand your visualization of yourself and the universe (while keeping your feet firmly upon the Earth) so that you may reach out and/or back through time and space to Kether; that original point from whence all of creation burst into our bubble of a universe. Here is an item that you may find typically (though not always) differs between a Wiccan and a Magickian is that a Wiccan would typically use their athame or dagger for this operation; a Magickian will typically select the wand. Whatever works best for the individual after experimentation and observation is what they should use. The same applies to use of an open palm, as you use; some use just the index finger, some use the index, medius and thumb and some of us use a mudra like form of the thumb between the index and medius (The chalice and wand conjoined, if you will).
    After you have completed the first motion (from Kether, down through the Sahasrara, stopping at the Ajna {Ateh} and continuing through to the Muladhara and projecting out the soles of the feet {Malkuth}) you may find it helpful to return up the Anahata (Heart) before proceeding out to the right shoulder. Then again, return through the Anahata to the left shoulder. Of course, remember that none of these pauses are ending points; just as at the Muladhara you project out through the soles of your feet, all of these lines continue out to infinity. The idea here is that you are establishing yourself as the center of the universe (at least Your universe)and thereby aligning yourself with God, which is what then establishes your authority to command the universe. . On a personal note; in my performance of this, the beams explode forth into eternity as I complete the לעולם (l’olam – forever, or unto eternity).
    Toward the end, you make a comment about using the name of one’s H.G.A. and pausing at the Anahata when making the descending line. This is an accurate statement of tradition. However, assigning a name to it? Assuming you want to be on good terms with this holy being… would one expect favor to a foreign dignitary and just start referring to them as Frank? There’s never any excuse to treat a non-corporeal being with any less respect than a human. Traditionally it is appropriate to use the God-name Adonai (Lord) as a substitute until the proper name is known. This works out so wonderfully on so many levels; the Heart as Lord and the entire cross now reads as “Thine, or Lord, is the Kingdom and the Power and the Glory, unto the Ages.” Most beauteous indeed. There is also some tradition for when doing group ritual with/for a bunch of Thelemites to use Aiwass.
    An idea for you to experiment with when you are vibrating (god-names in particular) is to not just take a breath before the vibration, but to breathe in the name. If need be breathe it in several times (this will be less necessary as you become more accustomed to it) until it feels as if you are so full of it the name is bursting forth from you, rather than you just projecting it. When done properly, the vibration will be momentarily exhausting and you can virtually hear/sense it reaching the ends of the universe and echoing back at you.
    “God heads”?  This is a Hebrew ritual, with Hebrew “God-names” (all the universe is a unity). These are names or titles of the Great Unity. In this context, even the Archangels may be thought of as extensions or expressions of the Unity (as the fingers of your hand).
    Drawing your pentagrams; you may like to avail yourself of a little pranayama. Inhale as you draw an upward line, exhale on a downward line and hold the breath for the horizontal member. At this point, based upon your comments, I highly recommend using the Sign of the Enterer to energize and expand your pentagrams. In my opinion, this is just not an option (well not any more than cutting a steak with a spoon). And yes, the Sign of the Enterer/Horus should always be followed by the Sign of Silence/Harpokrates (but there is no need to hold it until you’re facing the next direction). Draw, charge, recover, silence then reestablish connection from the center of the completed pentagram and drag it to the next (looking at Star Ruby may give you some insights).
    In regard to the “Ye-Ho-Wow”: Um… yeah. Okay, here again, this is basically a Hebrew ritual, based upon a Hebrew prayer and using Hebrew God-names, it may be best to honour Hebrew custom. This being the case יהוה (Yod-He-Vav-He) is considered to be the name of G*d, and no self-respecting Jew would typically try to utter this name. In religious services they will typically substitute, saying Adonai (Lord) or Ha Shem (The Name) instead when they read this word. This is how the bullshit name Jehova came about. In this case, the Golden Dawn tradition was to spell it out (Yod-He-Vav-He, Yud-He-Vau-He or some similar pronunciation of the letters). This is typically the best route, as it respects both traditions and insults none. The only other thing I can say here is refer to Liber XXX:

    “In the true religion there is no sect, therefore take heed that thou blaspheme not the name by which another knoweth his God; for if thou do this thing in Jupiter thou wilt blaspheme יהוה and in Osiris יהשוה.”

    For AGLA (אגלא), for goodness sake don’t complicate things for yourself (at least not yet). Keep it simple and accurate. This is just a God-name created by abbreviating the the phrase Ateh Gibor L’olam Adonai (אתה גבור לעולם אדני), Thine is the Power Forever oh Lord. Because of the pronunciation of the phrase, I suggest pronouncing it as Ah-Gee-LAh. I can honestly say I’ve never heard (in all my years) of it having anything to do with calling all the sephiroth and whatever (what is that smell? – lol).

    Alright Sy, that’s about all I can think of at the moment. I hope that gives you some information you find useful, and that I didn’t offend you anywhere. Again do as you will with the info, it all just suggestions and reccomendations. Whatever works best for you is what’s best… for you. Get it down where your really comfortable with it, then experiment. Keep notes, reflect upon them, try it a different way. It’s no different than tweaking a recipe to where it suits you best. Particularly as Thelemic Magickians, we’re scientists… what works best and continuously provides the most reliable results.

    Take care & Happy Holidays.

    Love is the law, love under will.

    Chaver93
    חבר 93
    (a.k.a. Steve)

    P.S.
    Holy poop this is long!

    • Love is the Law

      Thank you so much! Nt only have you mentioned some of the things I have stated in my next video which I have yet to upload (no Internet), but you have also clarified a part of a discussion I had its another Thelemite about AGLA. I used to say the word “Aah-GLAah” as he said it would be fine.

      As for giving my HGA a name, I have explained in the video, so hopefully it will make sense, but to quickly explain, as a witch of many years, I have always been accustomed to many experiences the mere Wiccan is not, which also helped push me past Wicca as an ideal spiritual garden. Visions, names or words etc always come to me, as lessons from the divine. One name came to me a while back, and it always pops up when I am reading, studying, performing libations or devotions or when I am casting in the name of a God/Goddess.

      Thank you!!! I don’t get offended easily, unless its about my family, my mix raced blood or someone slagging off the UK. Gosh!!

      Keep teaching! Do what thou wilt!

      Sy, 93

    • My iPad was being ultra dumb. I did write a lengthy reply, stating how I had intended on posting a new video with my explanations and theories, but alas, this path is becoming quite painful. I always assume I am making progress, even at a snails pace, only to be told otherwise.

      Just wish there was a fairly simple route, the way I learnt magick before.

      Oh, you didn’t offend me at all, I always look for an opportunity to learn 😀

  2. I’d found something similar in a book called Nocturnal Magick by Konstatinos. I haven’t found a concrete way I want to make a circle (I tend to change it up or switch different types of circle castings mattering on my needs), so this actually helped me understand the purpose behind the motions, etc.

    • It’s a great alignment ritual 🙂 but I am still new to its mastery. It’s very complex; so much more intellectual than Wiccan or other new age alignment rituals. I am a nerd!

Leave a Reply

