Sy Calaelen

Thelema Excites Me… Where Do I Begin? [list]

9 Comments


Good morning folks!

Firstly I have pissed of three people because of my lust and positive attitude toward studying Thelema. The one point I want to express here, is the fact that I read a lot more than I practice at the beginning of any field. Once I feel I am well read, and once the Gods begin to point me at other lessons, then, and only then will I start to practice. Those of you who have watched me blossom since my first blog post back in 05 know about that method. I’m not stupid, so relax.

Secondly, this is something I have officially taken up and hope in time will be my religious affiliation. I have read about Thelema for years. I have read up on Crowley for a while too, but until a few months back I did nothing about any of it. I have been devouring ‘The Golden Dawn’ book by Regardie, and loving it.

The one thing that makes my journey a little difficult is the lack of a proper teacher and not much of a starting point. With general witchcraft there is always a starting point. You have to learn the literature, the basic magick and then find the roots of your practice. Basically, you learn where magick comes from, how it can be used, the ethics of magick, the Gods or atheist root, religious groups that use witchcraft like Wicca, Druidry or Santeria. Once you have those in your back pocket, you’ll be able to practice fairly freely. As far as magick goes, you learn the basics such as simple circle castings, prosperity spells leading all the way up to evocations, invocations and Drawing Down the Moon. Thelema is not so open, easy or wide mouthed. Perfect?

When I started learning Wicca, which I eventually outgrew and thus dropped over a painful amount of years, I noted there were large amounts of 101 books shipped every minute. With Wicca, Celtic Magick and such there are tons of starting places that are very similar; that way you know you can’t fail. They are safe magickal practices which I would expect most young people to get to grips with. However, I wasn’t overly excited, I was happy and very positive, but once I let go of Wicca I finally felt free and that got me going.

I’m in lust with Thelema, Hermeticism is my true love and the Golden Dawn are my fantastical fantasy lovers. (I do apologise if that is offensive or crude in any way, I just want to express my point on how magickally and intelligently horny I am). I even tweeted a little appreciation this morning:
“I have never felt as excited, happy, brave or as positive since working on the religious aspect of Hermeticism. #Hermeticism #Thelema ♥”

Okay, one friend who I speak with often, and who also happens to be a solitary practitioner gave me the following list. After I pissed of the folks I thought I could have banter with, and being labelled a… Well, I won’t repeat it but those of you who read those tweets know, I gave myself one more try. For the first time in a long time my happiness was paired with a deep bout of failure. Is it wrong that I am this happy, and this upset at the same time? I have never felt this way, and its quite annoying to say the least. As much as I want to grow, knowing that other people aren’t as happy or open makes me stay in my solitary circle a while longer, which limits my practice.

I was quite upset actually, so much so I haven’t performed any magick or devotions for the past few days. I have heard, on more than one occasion that the occult finds you, and I believe it because it found me. Hence why I am so darn happy with my progress so far, I know this is my path, my journey, my Will and no one can tell me otherwise? Right? Thelema so far is confusing on the front that there aren’t many solitary practitioners, as almost everyone has a teacher. I have had bad experiences with covens and teenage angst filled groups, which drove me to practising magick on my own. To hear that Thelema requires a few friends to discuss and debate with scares me a little. I don’t do well around people, at all. How will I cope with this religion? I am easily daunted and my social skills are shot to hell. Do you see my difficulty? For now, like I mentioned, I just need to get to grips with the sacred texts and work hard.

I’m determined. Shoot me.

Anyway, this small list is from my daemon lover:

🔻You must read the Book of the Law (but you must accept it if you want to be a practising Thelemite in future).

With Book 4, read up on these:
🔻Part 1 – Mysticism and Part 2 – Magick (though you mentioned you have, and made notes? I don’t remember. It was a while?)
🔻Part 3.1 – The Principles of Ritual
🔻Part 3.XVI – Part 1 of the Oath
🔻Liber III vel Jugorum (make notes! Lots of notes! Then STFU!)
🔻Liber E and Liber O
🔻Then, Appendices part IX. I-VI

Go over those lots and lots, and lots. Make notes, practice and grow. You said you have the Golden Dawn book? I suggest reading it from cover to cover, and fold corners on important pages. Also get a hold of Liber 777. Once you have those email/call me and I’ll get you another list.

Use the internet too.

— okay, he is not my lover, he just loves working with daemons, angels and other entities etc. He has been a magician for years, and happens to be one of the happiest people I know.

Hopefully that list is okay though. I have Liber 777 already and various other tables, so studying should be fine. I’m not sure if this is an ideal list, but as I am halfway through it, its been great so far. Just thought I would share!

Love and 93’s, x

20121119-111540.jpg

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

9 thoughts on “Thelema Excites Me… Where Do I Begin? [list]

  1. I’ve seen your excitement and your studies and you make me proud to be a studying Chaos Magickian. I haven’t read any of those posts as I’d been avoiding twitter but don’t worry about anyone you’ve pissed off. If you aren’t actually hurting yourself or anyone then you’re doing something you love and some people can’t handle your enthusiam. Don’t let that stop you. You know what you want and you know the path you have chosen. Those people are simply brambles in the forest. You can either take an alternate root just to avoid them and risk losing your way or you can crash right through them on your way to your personal truth. You don’t even have to listen to me, but listen to your heart and yogoour Self. I enjoy watching people with intellectual horniness XD. Intellectual voyeurism on my part?

    • Haha, thank you. Very kind 🙂

      I find, with this new passion, I am growing much more confident. I am able to stand up for myself, and learn not to worry about sharing my opinion. Live life!

  2. I love this post, and am honored to have discovered a traveler such as yourself on the journey to Mons Abiegnus.

    93s

  3. I recommend you follow Bethelkhem. This is certainly the best blog online on Thelema, written by the author of the official Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance (OCRT) on the Law of Thelema. He is also the author of The Secret Wisdom of 666, which is the deepest book on Thelema since the works of Kenneth Grant.

  4. 93 and welcome to the world of Thelema! No idea why people would criticize you for being into it? Crowley himself was also a Buddhist and yogi until he met Aiwass.

    You can totally be solitary and be a Thelemite. There are a lot of solitaries around here. Even if you join a group such as the OTO, there’s no mandate to go every week. I definitely don’t go every week, and mostly have a solitary practice.

    The part about having a teacher is the A:. A:. and very few Thelemites are actually members of that…

  5. I know this blog post is from 2012, but I just discovered it and was wondering if you have the “next part”, you know, like in “Once you have those email/call me and I’ll get you another list”.
    I’m really gratefull for all your sharing (I have watch some of your videos on your youtube channel and you have no idea how much I recognize myself when you’re book hungry ahah ;p). Beeing french, and regarding the few/inexistant french material concerning thelama/crowley/OTO and such (and the big part of translated books) it’s a real pain to get my hand on some stuff. Your reviews and your lists were arrousing enough to get myself ordering english books. I bought the Book of Thoth along with the Milo Duquette Thoth tarot book, A garden of Pomegranate and the small book from Richard Kaczinsky “The Weiser Concise Guide to Aleister Crowley”, which are all inexistant in french (the Crowley Thoth book in french is an old edition, so rare, it costs like 300-400€!!). I also got the recent french edition of Liber 4, your big blue brick which in french comme as a set of two red volumes. I’m getting the french version of “The eye in the triangle” from Regardie as well. I know you’re a busy girl, uni/thelema and everyday’s life stuff but I hope you will continue from time to time to give us, thelema newbies, few hints on what to read or even your nice books reviews with your personal touch.

    Wish you a really nice day,

    Adrien.

    • 93s,
      thank you for the comment Adrien. My French needs to be practised as my grand-père is part French. I have seen the French Liber ABA! I like them! I wish they could do more prints in other countries. I’d love the French and German copies myself. Hopefully I can get back to blogging my journey and uploading the odd video, though things will change. I am a Thelemite but I will discuss general magick and occult topics again, instead. Regardie is the man! Take your time with his style of writing, I’ve been told he’s hard to swallow, though I’m fine with him and his teachings.
      Stay strong and remember yourself always. You’ll meet some lovely people, and others who later reveal themselves as not so nice. Humans!
      93s

Leave a Reply

