Sy Calaelen

One Freaky Night: Sleep Paralysis Anyone?

Leave a comment


Just a super quick post! I shall develop more as time goes on.

For the past few weeks I have been studying hard to better my personal lessons. The more I get to know myself, the better a witch I am. At the same time Mr. Vamp* has been helping me out quite a bit with recommendations, and helping me sort out the various correspondences according to Liber 777. On top of that, Thelema is fast becoming the major addition to my Hermetic path and I am learning fairly easily, but I can’t shake that feeling of being new. The moment I started practising magick, more than a decade ago, I never felt ‘new’ to it. It was something I knew about, so the only thing I had to focus on was hiding it until I was 18. Now, after all this time, this feeling has irked me.

One of the lessons I have been researching for years was the Lesser Banishing of the Pentagram aka LBRP. I had come across it several times in the past, but the terminology was so utterly confusing that I never bothered with it. The Hebrew itself is fine though, let me just point that out. I had never performed it until the other day. One friend said I should practice it when I feel comfortable, which was over a year ago, but Mr. Vamp stated I should try to perform it twice daily for a few months. I must admit, now that I have taken it seriously and worked hard on understanding its basic philosophy, I have pissed off the Mr. (Sorry!)

Let’s get to the seemingly quick part, which also happens to be a query: Have you ever chased away a being or entity during sleep paralysis?

I have experienced sleep paralysis a few times, and they are scary as you lose control and can’t move. I find that I breathe very deeply out of sheer panic. However, last night when my sleep paralysis came on, I found myself gaining control over my mind and mouth. I was able to repeat the lines below over and over, ever so quietly (due to being partly asleep and partly awake), whilst desperately trying to move my body. I noticed I was saying the arch angels name a little louder than the intended whispers and immediately felt calmer as my paralysis stopped within seconds. For the first time in a long time, I slept without the light on. (Just in case you are wondering, an entity has been in my room for the past few months – the rude one who rocks me in bed, and unfortunately for someone who sleeps in the dark, I have had to sleep with the light on. Not good).

“Before me Raphael;
Behind me Gabriel;
To my right hand Michael;
and to my left hand Uriel.”

So, without knowledge of the LBRP or those lines, I never would feel as amazing as I do. Have any of you learnt something that has awesome side effects?

I can imagine little entities crying, “Unclean! Unclean!” once one of the Arch Angels arrive.

Just thought I would share, and ponder!

Sy, x

20121113-045243.jpg

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

