Sy Calaelen

Rant | Confusion Profusion

4 Comments


I have no idea what to title this post, so I guess it’s just an inquisitive rant of some kind. I’m sitting here with a cup of tea, looking at a pile of books and my journals wondering where I have gone wrong.

I am an advocate of people finding their owns paths, practising them thoroughly and carving their own truths. You don’t have to be religious to do it, you just have to work out what morals you want to uphold and live it. That all seems well and good, until last night. I have suddenly felt, all that I have done magickally has been rewarding and beautiful, but when I speak of my practices to other people, they are quick to point out my flaws and how my rewards are wrong. To be honest, I am listening more these days. I am worried that all the good things that have happened aren’t right. I know that sounds completely wrong, but imagine receiving an overwhelming realisation that all that you have done does not compare to what everyone else has done. Its scary. It hurts.

I am at a crossroads. Do I deny my successes in order to follow the written path everyone else follows, stating it is true? Or do I continue my path, and bare the consequences of more gifts, knowledge and such without being able to share? I am just clueless.

My theories are stupid. My thought processes more than anything are over the top or convoluted. I can never explain myself properly, but the Gods know I try. What kind of teacher will I be if I can’t explain Shakespeare in a way that everyone else will understand? I am a worrier, sorry.

Of late, I have been dreaming about the name ‘Zenais’ without knowing what it was or where it came from, so I thought I would Google it and see. I found out it was a name, but I also found out it’s the female version of Zeus. Seems nice right? All the study I am doing on the HGA, sigils etc lead me to ask the Gods for a bit of a kick. It is something I do normally and quite happily. I always ask the Gods for help, and within the last few days this unknown word popped up in my dreams.

To be honest, not only did I not know how to say it, but I thought it was a fruit of some kind. I figured I would ask a friend about it, telling him what happened in my dream. At first he said, “Yeah, the Gods are definitely trying to tell you something, just listen in.” So I agreed and just let it simmer. Then I made the mistake of running up ideas about what it could mean. I ran along the lines of a name I could give my HGA since it would be forever before they told me what theirs was, or maybe its a name I could apply to myself due to Zeus being one of my patrons, big daddy. His reply was less than what I expected. It didn’t quite answer what I asked, or at least I didn’t realise until I asked another friend last night. I already pressed the send button and felt a sudden bout of dread. Why am I asking? What is the point? Why am I searching like this? Not many people will understand this, let alone give me the correct advice.

I was very stressed last night anyway, and the thought of 13 years of goodness just came to a halt. It all felt so right. But now, knowing that a pile of books and my written work is just sitting by my bed, I suddenly feel at a loss. Part of me is saying to continue, accept my loneliness and just live the best I can. The other part is saying give up and start again. Its all too frustrating. Grr.

I am just going through the motions I think. Normally I would ask the Gods to help, but for the first time I feel I can’t. I feel that I have failed somewhere and need to find out where, before I continue on.

Confused, helpless and secluded—and, not by choice.

Sy.

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

4 thoughts on “Rant | Confusion Profusion

  1. Everyone has there own personal spiritual “reality” and/or path. If someone is pointing out flaws in yours that makes me wonder what kind of a person they are? Sounds like you need to ignore what people are saying and go back to listening to your inner self and the Gods. You are a true inspiration and a very smart lady! I think you are a fabulous teacher and you have wonderful ways of explaining things. You have brought things to my attention that I never know existed.

    I think you are just going through a “time”, we all do. Keep your spirits up and don’t give up!

    Much love and many blessings – Amber

  2. I don’t feel like anyone can have flaws in their spirituality, because it’s your path alone to take. It’s a great help having people that encourage you along the way, but I guess unfortunately there’ll always be those that try to discourage you as well. Whatever their agenda is, if they are putting you down in such a way it’s definitely not constructive. I think that input it better ignored.

    Everyone goes through bouts of confusion and uncertainty, especially when it involves the divine. Last year my mother passed away, and it was an extremely rough time for me. I began doubting my beliefs and spirituality. It took me a few months to come back to that, lots of sitting with my notebooks and lost in my own thought processes. If anything when all was said and done it strengthened my philosophies. I’m only 24, I realized that I have a lot of learning to do, but I also realized never to let anyone or anything undermine the learning I’ve already done. Hold tight, I have faith that you will become centered again!

    Searching for and embracing the interconnectivity of thought processes isn’t wrong. The world is full of serendipitous connections that should be explored. The name Zenais alone brings this to mind, and resounded with me. My great-great grandmother was named Zénaïde, which as I understand is the French form of Zenais. She has proved to be one of those ancestors determined to never be forgotten and although she died almost half a century before I was born I’d like to think she has affected my life positively in many ways.

    In everything that I’ve ever watched of yours and everything I’ve ever read you’ve presented yourself as a strong, well-educated individual with a great spirituality. It baffles me that anyone would undermine it!

    Ugh, sorry for going on so long… Just know you’re an inspiration to many! =)

  3. Hey Sy,

    Sorry to hear you were feeling down. When I feel that way I just imagine my life 10 years from now with no Magic(k). It’s a pretty bleak picture from my perspective. Also when I think about compromising my beliefs and my dreams and goals, and instead just following the heard, I imagine what it would be like to meet someone who did stay on the path of Magic(k) and I imagine how disappointed in myself I would feel for abandoning such a big part of who I am/was. I have never felt as strongly about anything in my life as I do about Magic(k), I can feel the inescapable pull in my bones. As lonely as life gets I cant abandon my true inner self, for that would be true loneliness. Stay strong Sy. : ) ❤

Leave a Reply

