Sy Calaelen

All the Things Unsaid

Leave a comment


This is a poem I wrote early this morning, which actually woke me from my sleep. If there is one thing on this planet I know for sure, it’s that love is too complicated, it hurts and it has been deaf to my heart. This poem needs some work, but for now I thought I would publish the first draft so as not to forget. It is written in free verse as I am hopeless at rhyme of any kind.

All the Things Unsaid

I tell you, its all the things unsaid.
The way you walk, the way you talk,
The words you choose when they flow from your head.
They bare a weight so heavy, but I never did see.
Because the world to an iridescent fool like me, is bright and rosy.
Perhaps just for a moment, I did wish you could see.

The times I would stand on the carousel, waiting for you to climb on.
Watching you stand so close, only to see the ground.
The moments I would creep toward you, hoping you could greet me,
Only to feel you look straight through me.
I am your ghost, and nothing more.
It wasn’t what you had said, but what your body did show,
All the things unsaid.

“Time will tell,” these patriarchs’ did gush,
And I soaked up every word.
I was the hungry child, with fears of disappointment.
The stupid fool for you, with a heart of glass.

How long must my troubled mind obscure me?
Those words you never spoke, so soft as they fell,
Shattered the glass in the morning swell.

An empty, yet painful realisation, woke me.
Words expressed in the past went unheard.
Feelings of passion played on and on, but,
All the things unsaid, bruised my head,
And lead to loves death.

Amazing, phantom like feelings gathered in my heart, and finally I let them create peace.
I stood on that carousel, and danced a million steps.
Knowing deep down, love only drowns those fools like me.

All the things you never said,
And the kind lies you did,
Let me grow a heart of stone.

Sy Calaelen 2012

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

