Sy Calaelen

Tools | Such a Petty Subject

11 Comments


This is a rant and a declaration to myself to stay strong, stay positive and be proud of myself. I will try to keep it short, and hopefully without too much swearing, but this issue just annoys me.

Last night I performed a ritual I had been planning for the most part of last month, and leading up to it I had been open to many things. Sadness, upset, bad news etc. I utilise these feelings by bottling them especially for times when I want to release them by turning them into something slightly calmer. That goes for the over excess of goodness that comes my way too. I like to be 50/50 as much as I can. There comes a point on my path where i stubble upon a block in the road; and this refers to people I encounter, whether they are good or bad. As a loner I have the advantage of sitting in the sidelines as people walk by, and I am able to watch and observe them. I don’t talk to people much, though I am trying, but thanks to be observations I am able to wade through a sea of people and stick with the individuals who really matter.

Genuine people are easily ignored, as one friend put it in an email, “Idiots are scared or intimidated by the genuine people, who seem to live a life of equilibrium and splendour without having to show the turmoil inside. These individuals, like you (referring to me) are always overlooked, judged and misunderstood. In time someone will stand up and praise you for showing them the way to their light. Don’t let these fools see that turmoil/drive, keep that passion for yourself. That’s enough to keep them guessing and it will drive them wild.”

That touched me, but I didn’t understand what it meant until today. (I had to dig it out of a folder I made on Yahoo, back in 2009! I am old…). The only reason I bring that up is for two queries really. One, what is the fuss about being a know it all with experience? I thought that was what people were looking for? And secondly, why is the majority drawn to people who preach utter crap?

I received an email this morning that kind of pissed me off. After working such a beautiful ritual, I finally went to sleep at 5am then awoke at 8am feeling refreshed and glad my ritual was over. Everything was fine until this horrible ‘idiot’-I called her/it an eejit in the 2nd or 3rd reply-who thought it was fair to bombard me with accusations of being a know it all and a fool for pumping the values of tools, symbols, altars etc. Firstly, let me just say to those of you who are new to the craft, the literal truth to using such correspondences are purely for magickal work, practice and most importantly to help you understand the spiritual truth. If you can’t separate literal values from the spiritual then please I beg you, practice and read a whole lot more. Eventually you will see, and eventually you will be an amazing practitioner as long as the OTB permits.

I was tempted to be a fool and film myself reading the conversations but I shan’t. I’ll copy up parts instead:

“There is no need for all that stuff. The occult stuff is old and no one uses it as its just words from dead men. What you are doing is just a waste of time… Get over it already.”

(She was referring to my occult series, yet another blow and now I feel to scrap them all)
My reply-“the occult and philosophies from centuries past are the base of the new age mountain you stand on. Without them you wouldn’t have very much to stand on now, would you?”

This is from the first email also:
“No one cares about those symbols. I saw your video on magic squares and thought how dumb. Why would anyone care.”

MR-“I think they are important. Not many people do care as they want a quick magick fix like you I presume? But there is a small group of people who do like that sort of theory and I am just one in hundreds who happens to break it down or open up a new area of intrigue for them.”

From the second reply:
“Oh so that’s why you talk about occult? Because you have experience? No one has experience these days. All that pretend magic from those people in robes are total fakes. What do you have to say about that?”

-“I have no idea what you are referring to. As far as my experience goes, I am not here to prove anything to anyone. Harry Potter perhaps? Yeah, that’s fictional.”
(That was all I wrote actually…)

Third, and last email:
“How long have you been ‘reading’? Clearly you are too stupid to realise magic is within. Not in the tools or those squares. Seriously get some proper education… BTW you are boring as hell, no wonder people don’t care about what you have to say.”

MR-“I know magick is within, but how else are you supposed to feel it if you don’t practice with tools, herbs and Kameas? Maybe not Kameas as you are too stupid for any angel/demon to come close enough to mock you. You are a fool for thinking I am just a ‘know it all’ young woman. I have been a practitioner for 13 years. I hate when people think its okay to bang on about why they should or shouldn’t use tools. Its such a petty topic. It doesn’t matter where or what the tool is, you’ll need it someday.”

The only thing I can think of are the beautiful Golden Dawn videos and layouts on various blogs and websites, as one main example. Yes they wear robes, yes they carve symbols in the air, but do you actually know what any of that means really? For a while I thought that stuff was theatrical, but as my studies grew and my practices flourished I found the reason to do them. It was honour and respect to the forces we often call on for magickal assistance, and mostly for a physical bonding with the divinity/universe surrounding us. How can someone state that the OTB is all around, and within when we restrict its natural flow to save face? Ever wonder why your magick isn’t as potent as others?

The Hermetic Principle of Correspondence is a great place to understand why you are taught about these in the first place. Here is my link to that.

The next time you feel the need to make a video or write to me or someone else complaining about their practices, watch/read all of their stuff first, get to know them (that way you have the right to an opinion) and make sure you have a leg to stand on. Better still ignore them or, go fuck a dog before you open your mouth to and about me and my practices. If people want the bullshit that is out there, then that’s fine. That is up to them. But I support, encourage and honour all the genuine folks, like myself, who don’t give a shit. We have the Gods on our side.

End.

20120921-134037.jpg

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

11 thoughts on “Tools | Such a Petty Subject

  1. Wow, that person was really narrow-minded. I myself use limited tools- but as you know I’m a Chaos Magickian, I use whatever is available. This person was obviously a troll; they must have no idea how a ritual works, nor could they possibly be a practitioner. Lack of intelligible ideas expressed by tactful critique aside, this person may have only caught on to your bad times and wanted to try and get a rise out of you.

    For them to try and have a go at something you center a lot of your practice around, they just wanted to be nasty. To me, personally, tools are a great way to put you in the mind set, the purpose of your particular ritual, and for this person to speak in that way of the occult and your proclivity to be a researcher, s/he is rather an insignificant bump that you’re gonna come across in your path to spiritual enlightenment. DONT YOU DARE QUIT YOU INSPIRE FAR TOO MANY PEOPLE TO BOW DOWN TO AN INSUFFERABLE TOERAG LIKE THAT.

    Love ya, darling. I expect more videos and no taking down of ANYTHING. That would be lack of respect for yourself. I won’t accept that from you.

    • Thanks honey 🙂 you are a dear friend. I am quite happy standing where I am, traveling where I am. Sometimes, and his is my biggest flaw, I am too caring and too generous. I take this seriously with my practice as is a way of life, my life, and I do things not only for my own atonement but in honour of lives past. At the end of the day, only the Gods can judge me.

  2. Sy – I am so sorry this person is bothering you. We all love and appreciate all you write for us! Blessed Be – Amber

  3. I get questions and such like this often from people out on the street and even in email from other websites I’m on and I don’t pay mind to what they say/slander. If they have questions or place accusations, I correct them and give this my best weapon: Historical resources. Books, manuscripts, documents…you name it. You know what’s true, don’t worry about it. After all they’re hatin’ and not appreciatin’!

  4. Admittedly, I haven’t been following your blog for very long, but I wanted to say how angry I felt (as well as saddened) by your experience. I know it’s difficult, but try and forget about the ignorance being thrown towards you by this other individual.

    If it helps any, I am a huge believer in symbolism and tools and believe that it helps to get me into the mindset and experience of what I’m doing or what I’m trying to achieve.

    Everyone is entitled to follow their own path and find peace and love on it. I think that those who attack another’s path seem to have a shadow or something unsettling within themselves that causes them to lash out.

    I hope you feel better soon.

  5. Wow, I can’t believe someone wrote that to you. Even if someone doesn’t agree with you or practice the way you do, they shouldn’t be rude. I just started reading your blog, but I’m a big fan of your videos. I love your occult series and find you very informative.

  6. Wow, what an idiot she is. Please don’t take down any of your videos. I have been watching them since 2009 and you’re one of the most knowledgable, young Pagans on youtube. Her comments are complete rubbish. I love your occult series, any books you recommend go in Amazon shopping cart immediately. Just ignore the stupidity.

    • I haven’t made a video in a while now. To be honest I a just going to push out these occult videos and leave it there for a while.

      Thank you for watching my videos. Not everyone would give me the time of day. 😀

  7. Wow! I cant believe she actually used the phrasing “Waste of time” and “No one cares.” Does this person realize she took the time to watch your video just to sit there and type up these useless, non constructive criticisms of you?!?!?! IMHO the day I seek out info I disagree with, take the time to absorb it just to turn around and ignorantly criticize it you might as well shoot me. NOW THAT’S A WASTE OF TIME! A waste of time and energy for all parties considered. Not to mention she obviously cared enough to go to your channel, watch the video, and then comment on it! WTF!?!?!? Don’t allow this cretin the satisfaction of a single ounce of your energy Sy!

Leave a Reply

