Sy Calaelen

A. Crowley | Every Woman is a Star

1 Comment


I am on a bit of a writing spree today… Be aware there is profane language used below.

I have recently subscribed to ‘ozzzz156’ on YouTube thanks to my inspiring friend and Thelemite Mr. Lestat, because I have been reading Book 4 and really studying its texts when I can. I have grasped the symbolic meanings behind a lot of what Crowley had written and suggested, but when he wrote about women it awoke something in me.

I am not a feminist, yet at the same time I am. Thanks to the wonderful Caitlin Moran, I consider myself a strident feminist. One who moans at other feminists who want equality yet still feel that their men should constantly buy them gifts and flowers, yet they won’t see and buy a nice Rolex for their man. I won’t go into too much detail about that argument, but you get the gist. over the recent years, the media have shown us the profane words being used in today’s society, and through that helped claim the use and in some cases the rights/connotations of those words to the people they were originally aimed at. You hear black/Latin folks singing and rapping about “You nigga this, you nigga that,” in a manner that empowers them. So long as it is spelt with the letter ‘a’. In time I hope the word “Cunt” will only be used and claimed by the people who actually posses one, which would be women. To this day it is the most profane word in existence, yet I have one and no man I know does so it’s mine and I am claiming it. Along with that, the word “whore” sums up so many images in my mind. Firstly, a whore is usually referred to a woman of the night or someone who likes to have fun using her bruised flower. Secondly, as it’s a word that is supposed to be derogatory then why not claim it? People often put women down and call them these nasty words, yet when the push comes to the shove it’s the woman/whore you need is it not? Don’t contradict yourself dear.

Now this video is a reading from a text, but if you listen and really think about the words you should be able to pick up the message. As much as people try to discard us, y’all need us like we need you. Enjoy!

Thelema – Every Woman is a Star

93, 93 / 93 x

20120831-140806.jpg

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “A. Crowley | Every Woman is a Star

  1. Pingback: Questions Asked in the Search Terms: Fall 2012 | Jessica Sideways.com

Leave a Reply

