Sy Calaelen

Hermeticism and Me | The Principle of Correspondence

2 Comments


“As above, so below; as below, so above.”–The Kybalion

This Principle embodies the truth that there is always a Correspondence between the

laws and phenomena of the various planes of Being and Life. The old Hermetic axiom ran in

these words: “As above, so below; as below, so above.” And the grasping of this Principle

gives one the means of solving many a dark paradox, and hidden secret of Nature. There

are planes beyond our knowing, but when we apply the Principle of Correspondence to them

we are able to understand much that would otherwise be unknowable to us. This Principle is

of universal application and manifestation, on the various planes of the material, mental, and

spiritual universe–it is an Universal Law. The ancient Hermetists considered this Principle as

one of the most important mental instruments by which man was able to pry aside the

obstacles which hid from view the Unknown. Its use even tore aside the Veil of Isis to the

extent that a glimpse of the face of the goddess might be caught. Just as a knowledge of the

Principles of Geometry enables man to measure distant suns and their movements, while

seated in his observatory, so a knowledge of the Principle of Correspondence enables Man

to reason intelligently from the Known to the Unknown. Studying the monad, he understands

the archangel.

~ taken from The Kybalion by the Three Initiates’

I had to copy up the whole excerpt in hopes that you all understand, otherwise I would have ended up repeating what was written here. I’m lazy, forgive me.

Here is a little doodle demonstrating how and why I take this principle seriously:

A very bad example, rather than XX, two arrows showing up and down.

As you can see, with reference to the Principle of Mentalism, we are connected to the THE ALL/Universe/Supreme Being, but what we project from our minds, actions and will affects the cosmos or ‘eco system’ on a bigger level. I am firm believer in tools and ingredients when working spells and/or rituals, because what you manifest into existence comes from will and the energies that flow in and out of us and the tools we use. Us + Tool (with meaning) = manifestation. It is easy you conduct something without using tools, as our minds (being open and connected to THE ALL) already have the energies or ‘power’ we need. However, when you use a tool knowing what its tiny significance means in the large spiritual picture you are already vibrating on a higher level. Have you ever heard someone say that using tools lowers your magickal IQ? If you have, be blunt and tell them where to get off. If anything using tools helps push you up higher, but you don’t need to use them all the time if you do not wish to.

This text also refers to the fact that it doesn’t literally mean ‘tool’ in a physical sense, but refers to the mind as the tool. Our thoughts and actions are important in how we are to be perceived. Buddhists constantly tell you to work on your inner self before considering going out and fixing other people. Through meditation, yoga, mantra and any other spiritual path which helps open one’s eyes to what is in front of them, helps you see that it’s you that makes your world go round, no one else. Others will come and influence you or your decisions but ultimately you hold the key, as I mentioned in the previous post. What you will into existence today will cause a new outcome tomorrow. If you keep saying to yourself “I’m not good enough because I am not intelligent enough,” then chances are your mind won’t change tomorrow, if anything you’ll feel worse if not the same. ‘Will’ sends ripples or vibrations through time and they will affect you. I’ll go over vibrations in a later post.

My little work area where my technology is all neatly set up/stored I have orange and yellow candles everywhere. I have the Mandarin & Tangelo oil for my oil burner both from The Body Shop close by to inspire passion, creativity and inspiration for my written works. These little correspondences seem like nothing, but they help me focus and through them I am able to write passionately for you guys. If I were to get rid of them, I’d be fine still, but they are a nice physical reminder that without my mind, and without the knowledge that my mind is connected to the Universe, I wouldn’t be able to do very well.

Hopefully that makes sense…? That is how it is perceived for me but my views may change a year from now, who knows.

Sy x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Hermeticism and Me | The Principle of Correspondence

  1. “As you can see, with reference to the Principle of Mentalism, we are connected to the THE ALL/Universe/Supreme Being, but what we project from our minds, actions and will affects the cosmos or ‘eco system’ on a bigger level”

    As I promised , I took my time to ponder on this and to my surprise the hermetic principle of the law of correspondance happened without any physical effort on my part ( but my positive thoughts was a tool to assist in this endeavor).

    I walked in to a local park and read your blog and I focused on the drawing that you provided. In my mind, I thought of this and wondered how wonderful it would be if this principle could be a part of my energy now. After this I proceeded to walk to a coffey shop without a second thought of the principle. On my laptop I was doing some paperwork and Two women and a child walked in and had a difficult time to find a sit…me on the other hand was sitted in a table with two free sits. I called them to join me and what transpired afterwords never ceases to amaze me. Both “strangers” were directors of a dance company and organization in the school district and were both Dance Students of my Master Teacher. The significance of this is that I and my sister are planning to create a dance company but it was only a private matter and we are training hard to perfect the traditional dances. And once I “thought or imagined” us teaching at a school district and promoting the company it materialized in the form of “two strangers” with the capacity to help my company flourish! Excitiedly, I told one of the locals at the coffey shop ( he is a panamanian intellectual and loves to correct me lol) I asked him about the above and below principle of correspondance and he quoted Palo Colcho a chilean author of the Alchemist ” When you want something the whole universe conspires to help you achieve it”.

    I deeply admire your work and I constantly learn new things from you. My sister looks up to you I gave her tarot card books so that she can learn. I tell her to study and read like you:)

    Luis MIguel Omo Agallu Sola

  2. Pingback: Hermeticism and Me | The Principle of Polarity |

Leave a Reply

