Sy Calaelen

More Pagan YouTube Drama?

3 Comments


from Google!

I thought we had learnt the second time around? Guess we did, or at least some of us did, that petty crap is unessential as it does nothing for our growth. You want to moan about someone, by all means do so in a polite and sarcastic manner. The thing about the drama this time is that other people are getting involved and invited to stir the crappy cauldron and they are doing it without thinking. What is worse, people just do not think. Some people are running their mouths with “doesn’t anybody know what common sense is anymore?!” when they are jumping into the fire just like the persons they are addressing. My way of doing things is simple. Ignore them, like you would the annoying child you just want to sell to the neighbour and just get on. I have had a bit of a rant on Facebook because I logged into YouTube properly for the first time in what feels like forever to catch up with over a years worth of pagan fever and videos to find the negativity brought in by the 3rd wave of pagans has become so disgusting I am glad I stayed away. I shall stay away longer, but only log in to upload and reply to emails.

Anyway, here’s the rant as I may need to remove it because people are overly sensitive and they don’t have the right to be, I’m mentally fucked in the head so I am allowed, yet you don’t see me or the people from the higher end of the popularity spectrum getting involved. What does that say? From the other side, once you open yourself to the internet you have to know that a lot of people find it far easier to cuss you off from their keyboard rather than on the phone or to your face, so deal with it. Welcome to the new millennia child. I deal with abuse about my heritage, skin colour and lack of Christian sympathy every day but it doesn’t stop me from ending the battle with a logical question. Often I am humbugged about why I should be a Christian and to them I either delete the comments or ask them what they would have done if Christianity didn’t exist – they never reply. People harass me on the street and online about my complex heritage and normally I shrug it off as so many people are born stupid, and very rarely I get upset and rant about it. Anyway… rant:

Yesterday I logged into Youtube for the first time in ages and enjoyed the videos on the homepage. Then I started to notice something as I began looking into the new pagan culture; what the hell is going on?! Don’t tell me, I just don’t care, but most of you are part of the 3rd wave of speakers, and a lot of people are looking to you and us from the 1st and 2nd wave [for teaching, inspiration, other opinions and insight]. Fight battles properly, don’t turn them to wars.  I was shocked to find so much disharmony, squabbles and childish behaviour. Everyone has the right to an opinion, but say what you have to say in a respective and adult manner. At least when I openly insult someone to their face about how unintelligent they are, I do with a smile and a helping hand. I don’t just throw punches.  I am someone who makes it known to whoever I am backing/supporting that I will be there, but I won’t help them fight a battle that needn’t be started in the first place. I’ll tell them one thing, “stop giving in to the fire or you’ll get burned.” Fair enough, I am just me, a nobody, but hell I’ve been through and still going through enough personal shit to worry about. I am not getting involved, just like the previous crap from 2/3 years ago with a few people and multiple channel changes. For those of you who are big enough to get on with life, like me, continue to do so. Eventually peace will come back, and then the next wave of vloggers and their scheiße. Sorry if this offends anyone, but I have tried countless times just to be a friend or a correspondence to a lot of people from the 3rd wave and every single one of them have ignored me or send me hateful vibes just because they hate/dislike who I am. That doesn’t get me down anymore, I just ignore them. I have the people I love in my life and they are all I need =] x x

 

There are people on my personal Facebook who I never talk to as they openly ignore me and their friends don’t see, who I need to delete. At the same time all notifications to groups have either been disabled or I have left groups due to people just hating me for who I am. The last time I checked, I hadn’t said or done anything out of turn yet people feel the need to fuck me over and they don’t know me. What does that say about them? I may get upset, but not so much to have 300 of my coolest friends to make these other individuals lives hell. I just don’t give a shit. If there is one thing my spirituality has taught me its something along the lines of what a pagan friend told me, “when there is magick and universal laws only the strongest will survive, so for now fix yourself first then worry about the rest later.”

The past few weeks have been a testing time for me as I have mentioned a lot previously, but I am more awake now than I have ever been and I must say I am liking this new chapter. Where I used to keep my mouth shut out of fear, I just don’t care and I will speak up in a polite manner. I have my life and experience to thank for that. Y’all need to read ‘The Wisdom of Ptah-Hotep’ and ‘The Art of War’ seriously, they taught me a whole lot and did me good.

I love you all, and the ones who don’t know me and especially the folks who hate me when they have no right.

Sy, x x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

3 thoughts on “More Pagan YouTube Drama?

  1. I really don’t know what’s going on with the world There’s a lot of crazy crap going on right now. I definitely feel for you and, as you know, I’ve been going through something similar. Sending you lots of love and good energies 🙂 xx

  2. This is exactly why I’m not a part of the pagan ut00b community. Well, that and the fact I haven’t really found very many people on there that I agree with enough to want to subscribe.

    And while there’s a ton of some of this same shit on Tumblr (where I’m most active), it doesn’t seems as….I don’t know….petty and shitty as what goes on on Youtube. There’s just something about a Youtube comment box that turns normal, sane, rational people into stupid, thundering assholes, isn’t there? *sigh*

    -Zee

Leave a Reply

