Sy Calaelen

The Ever Esoteric Buddhist Witch

Leave a comment


from Artzotec.com but I believe this print has sold out…

I have had a weird few days, with astonishing results that I did not expect. So much so, even when meditating I have found I am more balanced as far as emotions go and my rituals have become better concentrated. They still take forever to complete but I love basking in the moment and feeling the ripples of energy and power surging in and around me. I haven’t done any rituals or meditations in a few days, as I have been travelling and adding more to my written works. One book in particular, which is more of an open journal with personal and private notes, lots of tips, advice and pages on magick for folks who want to try something a little different, has been the major work for the past few years. I have chopped it up, changed it and given up on it so many times because I thought it would go one way, but it ended up in another form as my everyday life has changed with time. I left my intentions to the Gods one night a while back in a desperate plea for a break, but for days after all I did was jot down paragraphs here and there. The Gods were adamant that I had to keep writing if I wasn’t going to cast spells or get drunk at the weekends. Darn… they are the extra bossy parents you did not ask for sometimes! No pressure, huh?

Vajrayogini

This morning I started doing some written study from Book 4 by Aleister Crowley, the Bhagavad Gita and later performed some yoga to open myself for a nice little meditation to end my session. As soon as it was over I began to journal the events of yesterday which is my normal routine, and then pulled out my laptop to check emails without any inclination to write anything up, but something hit the back of my mind; who I am becoming? It is easy to forget the path I am on, and as much as I hate too much routine I find I fall into it ever so easily due to teaching myself about the structure of particular practices. I get so used to them, performing them and experimenting and noting how every try produces differing results a lot, hence why I a sometimes jaded into thinking I haven’t progressed much. The more I thought about it the more I knew I had to draft an official copy of my thoughts and feelings in this current state. I ended up writing four full pages with incredibly bad grammar and very bad syntax. Somehow, it didn’t feel finished but I felt okay with what I had. I then made the slight mistake in standing by my travel altar, which consisted of two small candles, drawn seals and a mini scarab beetle with a cloth and saying out loud that I wish I had the means to straighten out the coil of words I wanted to write which would make that chapter better written in order to justify who I am. I blew the candles out and didn’t think anything of it, packed away my laptop and rolled up in bed and continued to read more of Crowley’s philosophy and creating my own.

Later, I had a nap (in the middle of the day! That never happens and man it felt good!), woke up thinking about how complex my study has been over the years, and I guess I just wanted to know what to do with the next 13 years of practice wondering where I’ll end up. I went out for a walk and sat on the beach just listening to the waves crashing and watching the clouds in the sky slowly crawling by. I have been so disconnected from the world that I noticed I hadn’t checked my phone, so after a few minutes or hours on the beach I headed back to the hotel to check the other unread emails and noticed someone had posted several comments on a video I posted back in 2010 about being a practicing witch and Buddhist. What this person had said was beautiful, it was the wake up I needed, the inspiration I need to help me write the coiled words I found hard to unravel earlier. Hopefully you folks will understand it =]

I’ve been a “Buddhist witch “for 10 years, there is no problem, no contradiction. In fact if one is a practitioner of any highest yoga tantra and especially practitioners of the yogini tantras such as Vajrayogini or any dakini practice then one is already in fact a witch in every sense of the term. Vajrayogini / Vajravarahi is queen of the witches, her nirmanakaya [earth body] forms are witches as we know the term to mean, and her practices are entirely the landscape of witches, as are all the highest yoga tantras, annutarra yoga practices.

Vajrayana Buddhism is an absolute treasure house of magic and witchcraft, most Buddhists don’t realize or know this and most couldn’t care less, many deny it even as they practice vajrayana, tantra itself being a magical system that adopted a soteriological goal only later in its development, in fact the first tantras, kriya and charya tantras had no soteriological goal merely the acquirement of worldly siddhis. If one reads any of the root tantras from kriya class all the way up to annutarra yoga class one will find a truckload of low magic, including tons of black rites, one will also find very extensive pharmacopoeias in some, lists and use of tons of herbs, in fact many root tantras are mainly composed of rites. In any case any tantrika completing an approachment retreat on a deity i.e. 100,000 – 400,000 repetitions if it is a number retreat, at the end they perform the fire puja and they then have the authority to practice the actual fire rites and the 4 activities of pacifying, magnetizing / increasing, subjugation, and destruction, in other words tantric Buddhists in fact practice white, yellow, red, and black magic, but this is the thing, the very important thing…….as Buddhist witches our motivation must always be white no matter the type of rite it’s about intent, as it is with traditional witchcraft. Also if u are acquainted with both vajrayana Buddhism and the western magical trads and witchcraft then your understanding of encountering one orthe other will be greatly vacillated, in other words witches will understand tantra better than most Buddhists even practicing it, Buddhists focus only on soteriological goals and virtually completely ignore anything else within their own tradition, this is one reason so many have such a probunderstanding aspects of it and especially ritual.  So u see if u are a practitioner of secret mantra then u have always been a witch if u are practicing yogini then indeed witch be thy name. If you want to get a glimpse of the witches of tantric Buddhism then a Google on Vajrayogini, Vajravarahi, Troma Nagmo, Kurukulle, Simhamukha, dakini, and chod practice as well,…..will lead u in the right direction. Of course these are vajrayana deities and require initiation from a vajra master in one of the lineages. On one level it can be said an athame is the dorje, chalice is the ghanta (bell), our ritual daggers are the phurbas [and] our cauldrons are the kapalas (skull bowls). also we too call the guardians of the directions, we too cast a 3 fold circle albeit with visualization, we too have a rich tradition of medicinal and magical herbs, stones, and metals, amulets and talismans, we too use a triangle in certain rites, and indeed it has the same meanings on one level, I could go on……

 

There is a plethora of information out there, and luckily I have come across a few of the subjects this person mentioned years ago and have practiced and read them a while back. I guess now is the time to put it all into practice by revamping my current practices and learning to grow more as a witch. In life, the only way is up by living in the moment.

Here is my video too (it was 2010, and my views are pretty much the same, but much more developed these days, and I’m sticking with the WWF rather than PETA):

Namaste folks, Sy x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

