Sy Calaelen

I Spy on Sigils in the Mind

Leave a comment


Runic sigil

Do you ever wake up after an intense dream with a burning message from the Gods? I only know of a few people who have experienced symbols being delivered to them, from the Gods or other entities, in dreams. I don’t know what it is, but I find answers to my questions in my dreams. I guess that’s just basic psychology, but when the answer is an image paired with the voice, feeling, face or journey of a particular deity I’ve either worked with, or never met, that goes beyond just mere psychology; it is divine. I often lucid dream (and wow they are annoying leaving me with a bad headache afterwards) but I find they are the most effective form of receiving dream messages. I have no idea what that process is called, and at the moment I don’t want to yet.

Working with sigils has been one of my favourite forms of divination and spirit contact for a number of years. The more complex the design, the more it uncovers for the magickal architect. The ways I have designed, or more traditionally been shown have awakened parts of my being I would normally hide or never fully revel in. In other words, without some of the symbols used, I would never be the positive and eager student I am now. Through symbols, linguistics and magick I am able to learn things most would overlook, but the symbols I am aware of don’t just live in runes, or tarot or the Hebrew alphabet. They are so much deeper, and you can unlock those mysteries too. All you need is guidance, magick, power, faith and patience. There are three ways to obtain the messages from sigils and symbols, and each one is an opening to the amazing insights into a newer destination.

Many books will teach you various ways to use the runic alphabets, Theban and Enochian alphabet to create sigils for many uses, most commonly to create a seal of protection for your magickal items. It doesn’t take long to memorise an alphabet by heart, and once you do never stop practicing. I’ll go into words and letters on a later post, as letters alone have their own intense meanings behind them. When you study the runic alphabets, you may run up a list of letters for your name, or a word to enhance a specific energetic will such as ‘peace’ or ‘love’, or a more complex phrase to ward off negative energies like ‘Away with bad habits’. Look at one set and study them. You will then look at other examples, two of which are found in the Big Blue Book by Raymond Buckland or UBOS by Silver Ravenwolf.

Look back at the runes that make up your name, and play around with their positioning. Does one fit with another along similar lines? Does one work perfectly if you flip it upside down and fit it at the top of the two you’ve put together? When you look at the image you have created so far, is there one letter that is practically invisible within the structure? And so on. Before you know it, you’ll have an image like the picture above. You can use that image to create an empowered sigil of protection for your BOS, tools or a possible tattoo (though I highly recommend you do not get any sigils tattooed on you unless you know what they mean, and if you know they won’t invite harm to you). You can do the same with a good sourcebook with correspondences’ and symbols to create other sigils, talismans, amulets’ or seals. At the same time, just knowing about already known signs and symbols for magickal use is fine too, unless you ask for divine help to find the answer you are looking for.

When working with magick and signs, be wary that if you don’t have the full background knowledge on a lot of symbols you come across, you could mess up your working, or worse, open up access for other beings to cross over. Some entities will want to help you out, whilst others will want to terrorize you for the sake of it. Most of the time, without proper instruction, the sigil you hope would work won’t work as well as you hoped because it wasn’t charged properly or enough. The use of sigils for guidance goes as far back in history as ever, long before words were ever written. There are many ways the symbols behind certain complex designs are used are to remind you of a lesson you have learnt, to tell stories or to help focus your mind to unlock secrets, some examples would be mandalas’ or the images of Buddhist deities holding particular tools. When you come across particular symbols that seem to appear to you when you least expect them to, is your subconscious’ way of telling you that it is meant for you. You end up asking yourself what the symbol is, and why you were drawn to it. Not to worry, you have Dr. Google to give you a hand. Find a decent sourcebook of some type like The Illustrated Signs & Symbols Sourcebook by Adele Nozedar and that should be enough for you to work out what the symbols mean.

The last way for you to obtain particular designs, besides creating them and letting yourself be aware of the signs around you, is to let the Universe send you one. I’ve always been open to just sitting and talking to the Gods about my problems because they listen and always make me feel valued, even if they don’t need to actually concentrate on what I’m blabbing about. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been on fantastic journeys in my dreams, and more so once I learnt to meditate or summon dreams before sleep. I also found, after very tense meditations in which I recite mantra 108 times or more, after undergoing yoga beforehand, I open myself to the Universe for divine lessons or help. One dream that occurs quite a lot, well it did until the beginning of this year, was of myself in yet another desert with a turquoise hue dropping rocks on the ground as I walked toward a wooded mirage ahead. For some reason I would repeat my steps except this time I would stop and look at the stones and focus on one or a small few. Each having their own signs on them, mainly Egyptian or Greek, but at any given time one symbol would stay on my mind for so long I’d wake up and draw it in my little notebook by the bed. I would then look it up in my books, but it wasn’t until I found it that the message would be clear.

This morning, I had a dream that awoke me at 2am. For most of the day now, I have been drawing the symbol or seal that I have been given. So far I have been deciding where to put the colours I’ve been seeing in my dreams over the past few weeks. It has been a weird few weeks, due to a ritual I did just over a month ago, and each and every time I have done a small meditation to try and concentrate the image I saw, it keeps on getting clearer each time. It’s a simple design, made up of symbols with lovely meanings. So far, I know it is most definitely for me, and a particular God. I have also started on a design of my own, where it consists in some of the signs used in what I would call prototype #1 for elemental uses for magick. It looks so cool at the moment, but when the time comes to empower it and perhaps open it, who knows what will happen. Either way, signs are exciting and they always will be.

That’s magick!

What are your experiences with sigils, signs and symbols? Maybe I’ll do a video… as this is taken from a chapter in my future publications =]

Sy x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

