Sy Calaelen

In Moments of Weakness, Egyptian Deities Give Me Strength

6 Comments


The following spell can be found on plate 32 of the Egyptian Book of the Dead:

 “My hair is Nun; my face is Re; my eyes are Hathor; my ears are Wepwawet; my nose is She who presides over her lotus-leaf; my lips are Anubis; my molars are Selket; my incisors are Isis the goddess; my arms are the Ram, the Lord of Mendes; my breast is Neith, Lady of Sais; my back is Seth; my phallus is Osiris; my muscles are the lords of Kheraha; my chest is He who is greatly majestic; my belly and my spine are Sekhmet; my buttocks are the Eye of Horus; my thighs and my calves are Nut; my feet are Ptah; my fingers are Orion, my toes are living Uraei; there is no member of mine devoid of a god; and Thoth is the protection of all my flesh.” -From the Book of the Dead, Plate 32 – trans by RO Faulkner

The other night, I was having one of those moments when I lay back and just wonder about my life so far. I thought about why I was single, and why the men I’d like dislike me so much. What is it about my intelligence that is so off? Why am I drawn to comic books, magick & mysticism, Shakespeare, E. E. Cummings or Aleister Crowley? Why am I so alone in those topical subjects? What I have done wrong to be in this place, without a degree, decent job, a place of my own and in a relationship? Worst of all, I find I ask myself and the Universe what is wrong with my exterior. Why am I not attractive enough to be taken seriously? Those are the constant questions of a person who struggle’s coming to terms with their being. In times like this, I have to relax and repeat to myself that I am cool, nerdy and wise; so why do I suddenly become so crippled with these indignations?

I am a keen believer in fate and I am open to the path that the Gods are taking me down, and so far they have shown me to paths I would never change for anything. I have a deep faith in all things from the Gods. The path you have isn’t one where you just stand by and just things happen, you have to ask questions, you have to be aware of other ways in figuring out a situation. From that point, in some small way, I feel we have free will. When we break outside the barrier of fate, you fall into the hands of destiny. It is destiny that provokes a lust for life, learning and experiences. It is destiny that you define for yourself with or without the help of supreme beings or enlightened power. In other words, I’m not one who will stand by whilst the world rushes past me and shrug with “It is fate.” I will change that fate and run with the world.

I have spoken briefly before how I like to align myself in the way of the Gods. I like to make it known to them I am fully open at certain times, especially during meditation, mantra, ritual, yoga and other forms of connecting to higher energies, for them to instruct me in the correct ways. I am careful with these rituals as I make sure to cast a circle and protect myself energetically so other entities can’t interfere. Spirits are bloody annoying though… They are so bad with timing its shocking! – Another time. Once the Gods have bestowed what knowledge they want me to know, I use that lesson as a way of keeping tabs on my development. One of the most intense rituals I have written recently took about an hour or so to perform after the circle and quarters were called. It involved me asking the Gods to remove pain from my heart which ever means necessary. That is vague… but I must keep silent. For the past few days I have been feeling rough. Feeling really bad about my life at the moment, the shape of my body but directed at my face more than anything. Phoenix sent me the quote as we both have the same Book of the Dead by RO Faulkner and he basically fulfilled part of the ritual I had performed. I asked for a message, and there he was. Part une complete!

Today I looked in the mirror and read the spell with my black and white candles, dabbed my head with sacred oil and followed through with Egyptian gestures. I want to feel better knowing the Gods are with me. All I needed to do was remind myself that everything has a reason, but I need to make it work with the help of the Gods.

What do you all do in moments of weakness?

Sy x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

6 thoughts on “In Moments of Weakness, Egyptian Deities Give Me Strength

  1. Although I am very much into majick, spellwork and my religions I tend to do more mundane things to help me feel better and stronger. I listen to upbeat world music (preferably from Putumayo distributor), I play with my companion animals, I shop!–hahaha, like I just bought a cool spell book from Amazon earlier…Earlier, I was feeling down, crying a bit and then my male Chihuahua came up to me jumping on me, barking; he knew I was feeling down and that cheered me up. I feel so much love and concern from my Chihuahuas and Siamese cat…so much loyalty and unconditional love from them, I can’t help but feel better.

    I get strength and inspiration from all of that.

    But then there are times where I just talk out loud to the spirit world–just spill out all I’m feeling, as if I was talking to a best friend (sort of like the way “Jess” in Bend It Like Beckham would talk to her poster of Beckham). Sometimes I talk to my favorite spirits by name, sometimes not. Then I get that inner voice of encouragement, sometimes via straight talk, sometimes a bit of humor, sometimes allegorical, but always to make me feel stronger to move onwards and upwards–excelsior!

  2. Although I am very much into majick, spellwork and my religions, I tend to do mundane things to make me feel better. I like to listen to upbeat world music (preferably from Putumayo’s distributor), I play with my companion animals, I shop!–like earlier, I bought a cool spellbook from Amazon.com. Earlier…I was feeling down, crying a bit, then my male Chihuahua jumped on me and sensed I was feeling down. His love and concern made me feel better. My companion animals: two Chihuahuas and Siamese cat show me so much love, care, support, loyalty and unconditional love.

    I get better and stronger from all those things.

    But then of course, I go to the spirit world sometimes for comfort and strength. I just spill it all out–whatever I’m feeling as I talk usually out loud (sort of like the way “Jess” did in the film, Bend It Like Beckham when she would talk to Beckham via the poster). I sometimes use a spirit’s name, sometimes I don’t as I know positive spirits are always around me to comfort me. Then I get a response usually by way of an inner voice of just straght talk, sometimes with a bit of humor, sometimes allegorical, but always making me feel better and stronger to move upward and onward–excelsior!

  3. Hey its HippyGirl!. I decided to create another blog (this one is just for depressive rants that I don’t really want my family and stuff to see on my other blog) so here I am. Anyways I usually reach for the wine during a moment of weakness!. Lol just joking. I usually pray. Take a hot bath and pray. We all get down sometimes. God knows I know. And don’t be so down about yourself, there’s nothing wrong with your face or body. Hope you feel good again soon. x

  4. Part of having faith is knowing that despite what we “lack” in life, everything is as it should be. You have wisdom, faith, charisma, etc… that others dream of having. When time feels static and you feel like you’re in a “rutt”.. use the calm energy to prepare. Sooner or later things will change. For better or for worse.

  5. I’m one of your old viewers from youtube. How can you not know how beautiful you are? There is someone out there for you, and they’re not any of these silly shallow guys you are probably trying to attract. There are big things in store for you. Wait and see!

  6. Hey 🙂 I saw your video on youtube and your beliefs are very similar to my own!! My patron god is Anpu and i find when I need extra strength or something to give me a bit of a boost shall we say I always turn to the egyptian gods!!!! 😀 xxx

Leave a Reply

