Sy Calaelen

Spiritual Interview | BlackholePancakes

Leave a comment


Another fab interview. So far I have done 5 or, with an extra one I have yet to finish =]

Be sure to check her out, I love her words and her videos!

I do have a blog, it’s at http://iretenra.wordpress.com/.

Youtube User: blackholepancakes, but I’ve not had any interest in making more YouTube videos for a while and probably won’t anytime soon. Sorry to all of my subscribers!

What gave you the idea for your username?
Honestly, I just took two random words and put them together.

Have you always been magickal?
It would be hypocritical of me to say that I’m not a magical person, since I believe in heka, or Kemetic “magic,” but I don’t really do spells either. And for a while, I was a non-practicing atheist, so… I’d say no.

What got you started, and why?
I simply fell out of Catholicism. I didn’t believe any of it — or should I say, it didn’t really make sense to me. I didn’t feel any connection with God through it. Then I discovered that Kemeticism is still alive and real, if a small minority religion. Over the years, I’ve tried exploring other faiths, but I always kept coming back to Kemeticism.

Do you see it as something you’ll continue to develop in 5 years or so?
Yes.


If your path didn’t exist, what would you follow?

I’d most likely be an animist. Kemeticism is a form of animism already, so it wouldn’t be too far off. Barring that, a secular humanist, as I was that for six years.

So far, what do you enjoy most about your path?
My close connection with my Patron god. That’s all I really want or need in a religion.

And what are your pet peeves?
Regarding faith/spirituality? Not opening up to knowledge. Not doing research before proclaiming something is true. Close-mindedness and a quickness to judge. Blanket statements.

Now time to get even more personal, what is your secret to staying spiritual?
Not overanalyzing every little thing to the point where it drives me insane. Actually, the secret is to come to an understanding with your god(s). It took a couple of years, but now I’ve reached the point where I don’t need to validate my spirituality with constant practice and displays of practice/knowledge. I just am.

What do you think of labels in a general sense?
I like categorizing things and making things orderly, so I actually like labels. But I don’t think people are meant to be categorized so easily.

And do you think labels such as ‘fluffy bunny’ or ‘flaming pagan’ are okay or harsh? (Fluffy bunny is used to describe new people to the craft, and flaming pagan is used for over the top pagans):
I do not think “fluffy bunny” describes a person new to paganism. I think “fluffy bunny” describes someone new to paganism who refuses to learn, do proper research, or accept advice or others’ opinions. Actually, this webpage describes the term quite nicely:http://wicca.cnbeyer.com/fluffy.shtml

So yes, I think that label is okay.

As for “flaming pagan,” I’ve personally never heard of it before, but I figure that if it’s jokingly used and everyone is okay with it, then that’s fine. If it’s being used derogatively, then that’s not fine.

However, I’m also of the opinion that a lot of people don’t know how to chill and relax, so labels might be taken more derogatively than they really ought to be.

I’ll put you in a scenario. If someone sent you negative energy or went out their way to upset/hurt you, what would you do, and why?
I would tell them to stop being petty and childish, because it’s rude and reprehensible behavior.

Link: http://wicca.cnbeyer.com/fluffy.shtml

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

