Sy Calaelen

Close Your Eyes and Think of…

1 Comment


Super short post… Very short… erm…

Anyhow, I am an avid fan of the sensual singer Jason Mraz and the other day the sun was shining, heralding the beginning of spring and summertime, but to us pagans it was the Spring Equinox. I won’t go into the little festivities I did this year, but nonetheless I do want to ask if certain sounds, music or poems make you feel connected to life and the world in some way? I know that sounds like a really odd question, but if you look or listen to lyrics that aren’t meant to be spiritual in anyway, do you find the spiritual message in them? I do with this song, let me know what you think…

Only Human by Jason Mraz

For me, I get the chills when I listen to this song as I sum up my own thoughts and feelings surrounding the repetition of “I’m only human” . Whatever it means to him is one matter, but when I lay down with my eyes shut in a light meditative state I can’t help but feel I ought to let the Gods just hold me close. I feel okay with my situations and my life as it is. It is a weird effect, as even after my meditation on that day I couldn’t help but just assume life is what it is, and how you make it, regardless of the crap that comes along. Just be.

What songs affect you?

Sy x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “Close Your Eyes and Think of…

  1. I just love Green & Grey by Damh the Bard. Makes me cry, every time. Just beautiful and really makes me feel at one with God/dess xx

Leave a Reply

