Leave a comment

Blessed Eros Day! Year 2

ErosBlessed Eros Day or Lupercalia to all of you out there (traditionally celebrated from  the 13th of Feb to the 15th of Feb)! I hope you have a wonderful day, whether you are in a relationship, in between or single like me. Let today be a day of self love, celebration and pampering. If you like chocolate and wine you may be glad to know about the chocolate wines that are now available, personally I like both but not together! That’s food poisoning waiting to happen. Just to point out, Lupercalia was a time when evil spirits and bad energies were dismissed and sent away, and after those banishing’s as it were, the priests would perform rites for health and fertility for the land and for the people. I use this time to clear my heart of the negative feelings of love in my heart. It takes time, hence why I love the fact it takes a good three days to perform good magick.

Now, for some years the money event that is Valentine’s is sadly misunderstood as the only time of the year you spend enormous amounts of money on your loved one, excluding wedding anniversaries, birthdays and Christmas. I am not one to talk about relationships or love since I have failed miserably and refuse to try again just yet, but I feel that relating one day to the love of your life is weird and a little selfish. I would celebrate love as much as I could, when I could with my love. However, I’ll contradict myself here as a lot of couples lead very busy lives and find it difficult to have a whole day dedicated to themselves, so Valentine’s is perfect. It’s that one time of the year they can recreate that excitement and declare their love to each other.

If I ever get into a relationship in the future I’ll like to bring the original idea of love on this feast day back by celebrating Lupercalia and honouring the deities of love like Eros. For the past year now I have lit a little red or pink candle honouring Eros, and thanking him for keeping my heart open and thanking him for my family and friends. Other than that, I have incense or an oil boiler burning and meditate. In the past I used to ask for love to come my way, but since they have never worked I have decided I shouldn’t chase after something I don’t need right now. I’ll put off the hopeless pining for the future… Hopefully next year or tomorrow I’ll post a photo of my altar set up =] The following I say with my hands open by the sacred fire on my altar either when the sun is up or at night to mark the end of each day, enjoy!

Hymn to Eros (Orphic Hymn 58)

“To Eros (Love), Fumigation from Aromatics. I call, great Eros, the source of sweet delight, holy and pure, and charming to the sight; darting, and winged, impetuous fierce desire, with Gods and mortals playing, wandering fire : agile and twofold, keeper of the keys of heaven and earth, the air, and spreading seas; of all that earth’s fertile realms contains, by which the all parent Goddess life sustains, or dismal Tartaros is doomed to keep, widely extended, or the sounding deep; for thee all nature’s various realms obey, who rulest alone, with universal sway. Come, blessed power, regard these mystic fires, and far avert unlawful mad desires.”

What do you folks do for Lupercalia or Eros Day? What other events do you celebrate on this day besides Valentines?

It’s a very short post today, but I don’t like discussing love for too long as I end up sounding like a lonely old boob and that’s a part of my personality I hope will never stand in a room for too long. At the moment (and I will show you all as soon as it is done – a new tattoo that is) I stand by Plato’s quotation “Love is a serious mental disease.” Love is one of those things… I shall stop; I feel love’s ugly head trying to borrow its way through to the surface…

Check out this post, we have been writing about Eros and Lupercalia since last year and we hope to get a few more people to blog about their celebrations too: Eros Day, Year 2.

This is last years post: https://sycalaelen.wordpress.com/2011/02/15/happy-eros-day-old-skool-valentines/

Happy Lupercalia x x