Sy Calaelen

New Year, New Start

2 Comments


Normally I’d look at lots of other blogs for inspiration and ideas into what new skills I can achieve for the first month of the New Year. A month seems short but in reality there aren’t many people who actually fulfil their New Year’s resolutions, and knowing me I’ll start something and within 2 weeks move onto something else… This leaves my original plan floating in suspended orbit around my head. One example of this would be my super random and weird videos that not only boring and long, but incredibly unorganised and messy. They make total sense to me, but a lot of other people do leave after 2 minutes thinking up ways to eradicate the trauma they’ve just let themselves into. I shall be trying to make my videos more ‘hip’ so audiences will benefit from a lively person rather than a boring old moo. [I have noticed the amount of zazz and good looks on Youtube, and since I am no sexy blonde or brunette so I shall have to rely on my va-va-voom].

I’ve noticed for my pagan/spiritual channel my videos are continuous with their tone. Boring, uninformative stuff based on the subjects that aren’t centred on magick, spells and ‘how to make him love you’. I stick to what I know, and what I think is far more important than spell casting, the information that will save your butt every time you end up in some kind of study quandary. Sadly, due the lack of people wanting to know about these uninteresting topics I end up freaking out and put my work down. By this I mean I can film an average of 10 videos, edit them, panic and wind up uploading 1 video. I don’t have the internet at the moment so my uploads have to be within a self imposed time limit due to the file size according to a small wide-screen video or the recommended size. – okay this is blabber but I don’t have the net and sadly I can’t catch up with the influx of new pagan folks on Youtube.

I need to come up with a plan of some sort. So far I have deleted around 75 videos and I’m sure there are loads more I need to clear. I want to interact with more people, make friends and present topics that will be fun and personal. There are a lot of people on Youtube who have turned their craft into a business and they are doing an amazing job, due to the amount of people they have helped and inspired. Others aren’t so healthy when it comes to business, as they are more interested in the numbers of views and subscribers and want to put themselves ‘up there’ with our favourite pagans’ without doing something to give back to the community. It’s those people I’m slightly worried about as they have got something I don’t and it sure isn’t zazz. Once I work it out, I shall keep it locked away with the other pieces of kryptonite.

For this year, well every year in general I have written up resolutions that I intend to keep. I make it a rule that I can add or take away suggestions at any time during January, with the knowledge that I can create a very realistic list. I don’t put things like ‘Climb Mt. Everest’ or state that I want to lose another stone, because those won’t work for me. I love Snickers, Chomp and white chocolate, other than that, I dislike chocolate. I put things like ‘Get a new tattoo’ or ‘Compile new recipes and try at least half of them.’ I enjoy writing lists, followings lists and organising lists. This year I shall share with you my top 5 resolutions which include one thing that may not happen for my spiritual life. Another 5 will be located on my other blog here.

Top 5 Spiritual Resolutions

  • Start and complete the second 108 Days of Meditation – with writing and more in depth studying to include in a future project of some sort.
  • Learn to inspire people, like people inspire me. By this I mean, show people how being boring is not only fun but important!
  • Find my secret yoga place. Go out into the countryside or somewhere ‘secret’ and pose!
  • Finish my first two books, and get them published. (Pray to the Gods people will like my books since my videos are utter crap).
  • Get a place to live, get organised and get the internet!

I have many more listed in my journal. This year I need a complete renovation. I need to be more spunky, fun, crazy and wild!

What are your resolutions?

Sy Calaelen

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Start

  1. I ;personally love your videos. I enjoy the topics, your info, your experiences and you have always inspired me from the start and i have learnt more from your videos than from any other person. I honestly cannot wait to read your books 😀
    my only resolution so far is too have more confidence in my self and to expect good things to happen not always bad.

    vicki xxx

  2. I love your videos because you are so genuine. You come across as really confident and sure about your own path and have so much useful information to back up what you’re saying. It’s up to you at the end of the day what you want to put out there, but from my side of the screen I love your channel exactly how it is now =]
    I’ve tried making lists of resoultions and I never stick to them, so this year I’m going back to basics. Massive spring clean of the house, moving to a new flat, brand new start and hopefully kicking some bad habits (emotional and psychological ones!). All the best with your new year ventures
    Love and light
    Rhi xx

Leave a Reply

