Sy Calaelen

Ending 2011 with a Bang

5 Comments


Eat, Pray, Love

Image via Wikipedia

Okay, sorry, no explosives here!

A lot of things have happened this year, but for me definitely more so. I was living when Prince William and Princess Katherine. The 80s repeated themselves with riots in London during the summer. The ConDems have managed to cut even more money that we don’t have, and have also made it harder for poor folk like me to have a dream and obtain a degree in the future. Berlusconi has managed to run up a bill of 1.9 Trillion EUROs (I heard someone earlier laugh and say, “Thank god it wasn’t in Lira”). It seems I’m living in a very adult world that is slowly plunging back into the dark ages and it’s a scary place. I will have to spend my future earnings by paying extra taxes that will pay for the last generations mess ups. Thanks.

This year has been a year about me, or at least I tried. I’ve done my 108 Days of Meditation inspired by the book Eat Pray Love and enrolled in college as the universities I had applied for said no for the millionth time. Ugh. This year had been okay but not great. To sit here and assume that next year will be great is an expectation I won’t be listing on my New Year’s resolution or in my Filofax. There are a few ideas that I’ve listed that will be realistic such as, completing my English and Philosophy courses, reducing my intake of Snickers and buying the new Sherlock Holmes movie on DVD when it comes out.

On a slightly more serious note, I’ll be opening the New Year with my yearly ritual to Janus and relaxing in the circle. I do hope this year is a good year, I hope I become more confident and stronger. Those are the virtues I wish to capture and instil in my mind. I hope I’ll make friends with more people and actually get around to meeting them and at the same time I hope loneliness won’t hurt too much. I feel I’m at a peek in my spiritual life and it’s a wonderful acknowledgement. For now, I’ll finish this post wishing you all a brilliant and prosperous New Year.

Thank you for the support, blessings and love I’ve received, and a huge thank you to those who actually took the time out to read my blog and watch my videos, you 7 people are amazing =]

Sy x x

Ps. I shall watch more Johnny Depp films, but that’s a personal promise and a very realistic one!

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

5 thoughts on “Ending 2011 with a Bang

  1. May you live long, and always prosper ! A Janus ritual, today, certainly seems like a good idea, and a case in point. As for me, I’m still stuck with August Strindberg (a locally famous writer in my part of the World) as newspapers and literati over here have decieded, that 2012 will be his year (and centenniary). A Strindberg movie, featuring Johnny Depp (as the main character) seems like a good idea. Wonder if someone can make that one come true…

    But seriously – thanks for the odd comment and read in the previous year, and best wishes ahead of the new one !

  2. Much love and many blessings to you. Thank you for another year of inspiration and looking forward to sharing insights with you in 2012. xx

  3. Happy New Year to you aswell!. I think watching more Johnny Depp sounds like a good start to 2012. Might have to do that myself.

    Happy New Year and Have A Beautiful 2012!.
    xx

    Claire

  4. Happy new year~ ^^ I hope this year turns out well for you!
    My only hope for the coming year is that I can get a job soon. ;p

  5. Happy New year!
    this year I am going to concentrate on me lol going to live life for me for a change so that means finding out what I want to do for a living to make me happy, to be more confident in my self and to re look at my spiritual path.
    2012 is going to be a great year!
    Thank you for making the videos and blogs for us to read and watch, you are truly a beautiful person inside and out xxx
    Vicki 🙂

Leave a Reply

