Sy Calaelen

How do I Come Across?

7 Comments


I worry due to many reasons, I’m loosing friends due to a lack of communication, loss of the internet and I seem to find it difficult to get into a routine in uploading videos or even coming up with fresh ideas. I hate copying people, it’s a ‘fear’ I have about plagiarism and copyright and all that stuff thanks to my film education. I try to talk to you folks about my experiences and what I’ve learnt from them with the hope that at least one person can say “Yes! I know what you mean!” I’m not a teacher, and neither do I want to be, but it is nice to know that some people have told me they find me inspiring. I didn’t think I was, hence why I’m so worried about my channel and it’s content.

I’ve come across a few newer faces who have made it very clear in their videos how much they dislike certain youtube vloggers and their content. They haven’t said any names but I wonder if my name is on their ‘dislike’ list. I try to be as honest as I can, but I have no intention of telling people what to do or how to live their lives. I merely share tips and suggestions that can make life a little clearer when we march through the fog. I’m curious as to how awful or okay I am.

This is just a short post… Tell me honestly how I am. The New Year approaches and I need some change and development!

 

Sy =] x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

7 thoughts on “How do I Come Across?

  1. Your fantastic!. I am quite picky about who I watch on youtube. I unsub in a heartbeat if its a know-it-all or a judgemental person. I cannot watch people that are boring either. I like watching people with their own unique personality and take on things, and I like watching people that don’t try to offend other people but are bold anough to state what they believe without putting down others. You tick those boxes. I always like hearing your perspective. Dom’t worry about how you come across. You come across as wise, stylish, interesting, and slightely quirky in your mannerisms and such. Your you, and thats why we watch you. x

  2. I completely agree with HippieGirlClaire. There aren’t many people I enjoy watching on youtube, but you’re definitely one of my favorites. You have a unique perspective and all your videos are interesting and not ordinary. I like the way you explain things and you talk about subjects not many people talk about.
    Try not to worry about what other people think, and make videos because you enjoy making videos~

  3. I think you come across as a groovy, spunky and down to earth girl!! Which i LOVE! One thing i cant stand and that is “fake” people 🙂 And i love to watch your videos! Don’t worry about the lack of communications, I’m sure your friends will understand if your going through patches in your life where you need to disconnect yourself from the internet.

    And I totally understand that whole “copying” thing, I did illustration and with that you have to be really cautious of plagiarism. Also i like to keep things fresh, I mean there is a lot of videos out there at the moment which is quite samey, even though its great to see peoples opinions on the same things and their altars and stuff 😀 but keeping it fresh is good!! And thats what you do and why I love watching your vids, they are so refreshing! *HUGS!!* xxx I love you and your vids, dont worry! x

  4. To me, you come across very clearly. You know your path at the point in time of the video or blogs, you’re not ‘holier then thou’ about anything. Your Real about it.

    Often I look to your videos for some direction because you have good information and honest oppinions. There arn’t many Kemetic-type folks on youtube I can stand to watch for very long, either because the presentation seems fake or the info seems like it got ‘telephoned’ (ever played that game? it’s where yo uget a bunch of people to stand in a line, someone at the beginning of the line chooses a word like ‘banana’ and whisperes it to the next person, and so on, until you get to the last person and they say outloud what they were told, and it’s often something entirely different from the starting word!).

    So that’s how to come across in your videos to me. Like you know your stuff and know where your going for the day at least, because everyone’s always learning something new, and being secure in what you already know makes a big difference, least to me.

  5. Well, you’re still my favorite vlogger!

    Hello,

    My name is Lynx and I’ve just started a blog today in which I plan to document my path. I hope that I can continue to learn from your videos and your blog posts in the future. If you lost friends it may mean that it was time for you to move on. That’s usually how I view it. Anyway I plan to be more active in the blogger-sphere so I hope that we can be friends.

    Stay blessed,

    Lynx

  6. Dear Sy,

    You are on of the most pleasant, welcoming, and honest people that I know on YouTube. You speak about all aspect of your life (relationship, fears, spiritual path, ect) and it has help me greatly. Because of you I am taking my spiritual path more seriously and trying to get in touch with my inner goddess/Buddha.. You are actually the only person that I know on YouTube that practice Buddhism and Paganism. You show me how I can incorporate certain pagan beliefs in my spirituality and you show that it was ok to do so =D.

    You got me back into comic book because how excited you were when you got your comics. Because of your unique and awesomeness style I am looking to save money for my first Doctor Martins .<)

    Happy New Year,

    Tenshi

  7. Just so you know I love your channel and learn from everything that you speak of!You are so intelligent and powerful and honestly I wish I had your personality!YOU ARE AWESOME ❤
    -from a girl in the state of ga 😉

Leave a Reply

