Sy Calaelen

Do You Dream of Me?

Leave a comment


For as long as I can remember I’ve always had vivid dreams that always end abruptly and leave me either staring into the darkness or I have a curiosity to do something. It doesn’t help when I’m in such a deep sleep I’m awoken by a voice, someone calling my name. Usually I ignore this voice as I either put it down to exhaustion or that spirit that keep interrupting me when I have my headphones in. His voice is the same every time, just coarse and shouting my name once at a time until I finally stop to listen – and obviously he either stops or once I’ve gone back to sleep he starts again. I need and love sleep, and I find reciting mantra makes me open to messages from other spirits and more importantly the Gods. This is partly why I am such a fanatic of meditation. I meditate when I can, but as of late I’ve been meditating before bed or when I am woken up at 3am. My body clock is awful by the way, it never has been or at least it was perfect when I was a baby!

Now, take note that dreams don’t come to me often, and looking at my dream journal they come in a cluster every 2 months as of 2008. That basically means I’ll get 3 or 4 dreams within the course of a few days and then they’ll repeat over and over until I work out the message within. One dream that occurred a lot, which seems to be triggered when I recite a particular night time devotion to a certain God, comes very quickly once sleep is introduced. That dream is so intense I usually wake up feeling hot and a little sick. The next that happens involves a pen and my journal which is right next to my bed. This reoccurring dream is something I have to work out, and it will take time, but the images are so beautiful that I don’t want to let it become a distant memory just yet.

Some of my dreams come when I’m awake too, like day dreams. I’ll be listening to music, meditating, praying or just being and I’ll have a quick flash of images and then have to urge to write. Other times I’ll ask for help, especially when writing and I’ll recite a small verse asking the Muses to inspire me. They usually touch my forehead like an angel touches a saint and I’m full of words. I always thank them for helping me, or just for being there. I make sure the gods and spirits know most mornings that I am open for any blessings, inspirations or energies they see fit to bring me which I think is the reason why I’m so sensitive to energies around me. I see everything as a sign or omen of some sort, and not always for me. My whole life is spiritually and philosophically based, and I am a fan of causality. Dreaming is important for religious and non-religious reasons, any psychologist will tell you.

Have any of you felt the dreams are a great way for gods and other spirits to contact you? I definitely do. Half of my rituals that I’ve written (and some of which will be in my book once I finish writing the damn thing) have been writing by a lamp in the early hours of the morning because of a dream. Most recently I’ve written up a short ritual for each day of Saturnalia this week, and it only took half an hour [looking at my journal the dreams started back in October]. I didn’t even double check tools or factors with other books like I normally do; I just knew which symbols and words I needed. The great thing was, this dream, or the series of dreams I had from weeks ago all contained symbols and signs that Saturn and Zeus were going to be apparent during Saturnalia, I just had to abide as Zeus is one of my patrons.

I love the dreams I get, hence why I write them down when I can so I thought it would be great to share my basic view of what I think. Over time I have come to question whether my God infused dreams are visions of some type, but my lazy side has got the best of me and I cannot be bothered to look up the full meaning of a vision just yet. I’ll do it tomorrow…. (Yeah, right).

What dreams do you have, and how helpful or scary can they be? When I dream I feel more connected to the spirit world and to the Gods, and dreaming is one tool I’ll never let go of.

Comment, have a lovely Yule and Saturnalia!

Io, Saturnalia! (Pronounced ‘ee-oo’)

 

New this week: 2 new videos on my channel so click the Youtube button in the banner to view.

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

