Sy Calaelen

Time in Nature’s Temple

2 Comments


 

Do you like staring at the sky? I do. I try to make out images from the clouds. I love sitting by the river watching the water ebb and curl. The rowers and the swans float by as if the wind carries them to new places far away. No matter what time of year it is, I find I act differently to the weather and the earth’s changes, and I wonder if any of you do.

I love heat, I’m a Caribbean baby, so the sun is my friend, my lover and my God. The actual sun itself, that big bright star in the sky, the centre of our universe, the centre point of my world radiates the Gods to me and around me. I love to sit under a tree away from the shade with my eyes shut just feeling the warmth it sends. It makes me tingle and smile.

As a witch I don’t see the sun as just male, and the moon as just female. I see them as separate entities with a perfect mix of male and female energy. Think about how the sun is warm and nurturing and feeds the plants the amount of light they need. Think about how the moon brings nature’s temple the necessary cool air to help it time its growing pace. To me nature, like God is too perfect, too pure and just to be limited to those two boxes. Its because of that theory, that I did something I haven’t done in a long time: I sat in the garden and contemplated how close we are to the Gods.

(Just a heads up to those of you who are new to my vlogs and blog, my idea of God is simple yet confusing. I honour more than one God and Goddess, I see them as aspects of the One True God or That To Which Nothing Greater Can Be Conceived or TTWNGCBC)

I lay in the garden for a little while, digging my fingers into the grass and soil around me and just concentrated on the breath. I can’t really explain what I felt apart from feeling happy and free, so good that I wanted to cry. I felt all the worries I had built up over the past few weeks were seeping into the ground below and God was with me. Holding me, whispering how safe I was and how I shouldn’t fight myself anymore. Normally, if something crazy has happened, it would be a little while before I performed a ritual to make promises to God about myself or my body. Today, I didn’t feel that. I just felt a weight had been lifted off my shoulders.

Now that the days are shorter and the nights are getting colder, I find my workings to be more apparent and indoors. The cosy autumnal glow in the sky, the orange, gold and brown leaves lay on the ground creating a path for themselves that is so inviting. Does autumn invite magick to you? It does for me. I’m in the middle of stocking up for the hopefully great rituals from the end of November until February, and I taking each crystal out for their seasonal charging. I love using nature to help anoint my witch tools, its quite odd, using nature to charge nature. It makes me giggle.

After laying in the grass, being consumed by the wetness and the slight fog kissing my face I went indoors. I had to meditate skyclad and just recite mantra and thank God just for being there. God is so close to us and the Goddess is within me. When the two meet, their attraction is heartfelt and undeniable. Its a feeling of pure spontaneity and love.

I love spending time in nature. Do you?

Sy x x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Time in Nature’s Temple

  1. Oh my… This was beautiful ❤ x

  2. There is nothing more beautiful or amazing to me than the natural world. Trees, plants, birds, crickets, the sky…I could go on and on about how amazing and carefree I feel when surrounded by them. Nature is so divine, as are we. I adore nature. x

Leave a Reply

