Sy Calaelen

I’ll Have Gods with a Side of Unique Serenity…

Leave a comment


A lovely friend of mine asked a question on Egyptian Pagans (an open group on Facebook, just ask to join, not the community page). It’s a question I’m sure many pagans and spiritual people all over the world would immediately answer, but it wouldn’t be until a little later that you’d stop and decide on thinking a little deeper on your own. I tend to answer on impulse, and that’s what I did, until I sat back and wondered how this question relates to my way of living.

Ms. Gem* asked: “Which God/Goddesses do you connect with most? :)”

So far, she’s had quite a few replies, including mine which was a well trained answer that would be given in times of ‘impulse’. Don’t worry I won’t lecture you on impulse and what it means for the spiritually minded persons on this planet (I’ll save that lecture for another time). That question is so simple, yet my answer is a loaded gun. That’s the question I’d use to break the ice as it were when meeting like minded individuals and go into deep conversations with them. I’ve met a number of people I’ve had brief talks with over the years with this exact question at hand. So what I’m asking you folks is to give me your answers in the comment section below. Be broad as I’d like to hear about other deities from other pantheons also.

My personal connections with Gods and Goddesses stems into my polytheist beliefs. I believe in more than one God and Goddess, but like the Egyptians during the early days of the New Kingdom (c. 1550-1069BC) I see these Gods’ and Goddesses’ as manifestations’ of the One (who can’t be named… sorry HP vibes). But as with any parent, there are aspects of a parent you like and don’t like, but you can’t escape them as easily as you would a friend or enemy, because of love. For those of you who’ve grown up in families where the love wasn’t always there and thus bonds weren’t either, then the Gods and Goddesses in some way are your parents or Divine best friends.

As different Gods belong to different pantheons, I’ll detail very briefly the pantheons I’ve worked with or researched and the deities I feel I can always cross paths with. I mix pantheons if it was done in history, through facts, but some pantheons I don’t ever mix, again due to historical evidence.

Follow me into the next post…. 😀

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

