Sy Calaelen

Meditation Series 2! – Crystals and Chakras

Leave a comment


Sy Calaelen and HealingThese are just my methods that I’ve adapted from many books, so I don’t recommend them to anyone unless you know you can adapt or change them for your own use. Make sure you do research before you carry out any kind of religious/spiritual practice.

I have been using crystals for healing, divination and feng shui since I was 12. I partner them with spell casting, ritual, aromatherapy and herbs. I don’t go into that much detail about the practises I do, and somehow I forget to address them in videos, which makes me look like I lack knowledge, but this mini-series should give you a peek.

As with chakras (pronounce CH as you would when saying ‘church’) I have been fascinated with them since I was small. We had a Hindu man come into our middle school during religion week, and he briefly spoke of them. I never really looked into them back then, I was 10/11, and going to the library in order to look something up was an adventure I knew I wouldn’t be able to remember. I started a collection of Natural Healing magazines which went over essential oils, tinctures, bath infusions, good food, minerals, vitamins etc. That opened my eyes to the wonders of the human body from a therapeutic and healing view. Each week you would get essential oils and a load of sheets to put in the free ring-binder. I learnt a lot, and over time I came across another set of magazines, with even more information and other free gifts. I made it a plan, from the age of 13/14 to lay my interest in divination, spirit communication, aromatherapy and spiritual healing through reiki, crystal therapy and herbal medicine. That is still my plan, to open up my own natural healing business.

Learning about chakras is fascinating, and there are a lot of conflicting theories. Many of the written scriptures (and there are hundreds) will say there are 5 main energy points, others will say 7, a few more will say 8 and many more. Here in the west we acknowledge the 7 chakra points. I look at a further 10, which adds up to 17. I’ll do a diagram at some point… it’ll be a bad picture, be warned!

For me, the chakras get blocked and at the same time they can be too open which causes unbalance. I’m unbalanced at times, but because I mediate or do kundalini yoga, I recognise when I’m feeling ill. I can’t see my chakras, though there are people who can see their own. I just feel when they are out of sync with each other. If I’m too happy, then I tend to get light headed and I put up expectations, which suddenly make me feel stressed because I worry. My solar plexus starts out being too open, and then quickly shuts. I have a firm belief in chakras and their physical centres and connections on the body, almost like looking at reflexology charts. If I look after these energy centres I’ll ultimately look after my physical body. If you have a bad throat and possibly a bad case of anxiety, then you need to work on your heart, (higher heart) and throat chakras.

Crystals are renowned for their healing properties, so combining them with chakra meditation and healing is a big bonus. I’ll go into a little more detail on the crystals in a few as I’ve written too much here. I just hope that was an okay introduction to the series! (If it isn’t please let me know… I would like to expand it and publish a proper book of my journey, or at least add it to the one I’ve started)

If you’ve missed series 1 then don’t panic =] click the link: Sy Calaelen’s Meditation Stuff

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

