Sy Calaelen

Compassion is a Beautiful Thing

4 Comments


In a way this is the turning of a new chapter for me. I’m about open myself to the path of some kind of awakening, and the books and scriptures I’ve stuck my rather ‘annoyingly small’ nose into have really opened my eyes. There is so much I want to say, but for some reason I can’t find the right words. My plans to conduct the 108 days of meditation have come at the right time, and in the next 2 weeks I’ll start. However, I’ve been writing the odd phrase in my little red book for a few days now… though I cheated at first, I used Evernote on my BlackBerry as I was away with my boyfriend… I really feel I’m coming to ahead with my spiritual practice, and for some reason I feel more alive than ever.

I’m awake already ina  way. I feel I’m finally able to look back at the ladder I’ve been climbing my whole life and I’m able to see down through the clouds at green pastures and the dark clouds close by. In some way, I’m learning to ‘let-go’ of myself, and prepare myself for the worst to come if it may. My energy level is only halfway at the moment, but at times, I just can’t help but smile.

I downloaded Deva Premal’s newest album ‘Tibetan Mantras for Turbulent Times’ and I have been chanting to a few of the mantras already, and they rock! My favourite mantra, which I love to chant was played on the album and honestly, I cried for a while. I listened to it over and over with my mala beads in hand for a good 20 minutes. I felt as if i was released in some way. I made myself realise that its okay to be lonely, as I get time to myself, and it’s okay not to have much of a voice, as my words come out through my pen (or phone) to people I know who will read them and comfort me. I’m not alone, and neither are you folks. In some way, we have each other, and I hope I’ll be the one you can inspire you after all the inspiration I’ve recieved already from you guys.

For now, listen to the mantra. It has been on my list of top mantras for personal growth and compassion, not just to other people and life’s situations, but to myself.

Funny thing is, Papa J (you know who you are!) sent me the same mantra on CD this morning! Yay!

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

4 thoughts on “Compassion is a Beautiful Thing

  1. Beautifully written….I have had similar feelings as I’ve been building my path….

  2. Beautiful written, beautiful Mantra & Video. Forever connected and never alone. Thank you sooo much Sylva. ^i^, Papa J.

  3. This is my first mantra that I have heard, I am really interested in what they are saying means. This could be 4 min mantra I need to help meditate. Either way it sounds beautiful 🙂

  4. Thank you for posting this mantra! I really love it, and I found the Teyata mantra from this cd and I absolutely love it.

Leave a Reply

