Sy Calaelen

Loneliness is an Awful Thing

2 Comments


No matter which way you put it. I’m just used to it, I’m used to both sides of that coin. The good side, such as being on my own when studying or cleaning and watching a movie. I also feel lonely when it comes to working together, or discussing hobbies and beliefs etc. I came across a video this morning just before work which I thought would be cool. I want to help people and I need to start with myself. I’m not sure if it’s just a normal bout of feeling low, but whatever it is I won’t allow it to cause havoc. Right now, my spirituality is the only thing that is keeping me in check. The Gods love me and you guys no matter what. They’ll never give up on you, so don’t give up on them.

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Loneliness is an Awful Thing

  1. Starting out with meditation seems to be a good thing… For some reason, when I feel lonely, I remember the advice from my paternal grandmother (or “Edda” then, since this is the literal meaning of the Word) who reached the ripe old age of 95 years, and who survived four siblings, two out of three of her own children, and who had nine grandchildren and eleven great grandchildren before – at long last – leaving the material plane. “One must make a friend out of loneliness itself” she claimed, “for if one is a friend of loneliness, then one is never alone at all” Divorced shortly before she was 60 years, she spent the next 35 alone, and although the wife of a vicar in southern Sweden to begin with, she was, I feel, something of a witch or a pagan from the beginning, and at the end of her life, she certainly was confirmed as one… Maybe, one day, in May or so, I can muster up the strenght to write a blog about her..

  2. I know we don’t know each other well and we probably never will, but I feel such a connection with you.
    I’ve also always been unique and I’ve never fit in. Right now I have my boyfriend but aside from him I have a difficult time making/keeping friends and even getting attached to people. I’m interested in several different hobbies, and they all have online communities I’m a part of…but I don’t fit in with any of them. My boyfriend also lives in amsterdam and I’m in america so I can only talk to him online and visit once a year. I definitely get lonely, but somehow…usually I don’t think about it much I guess. I keep busy and I love who I am and spend time with my boyfriend. I’ve just accepted that I don’t fit in with other people and that I’ll never have many friends. I’m kind of at the point where I prefer to be alone I suppose. I don’t know if I can help you at all, I’m not very good at advice, but I think it’s just about acceptance. Accepting and loving who you are and that no one will care about you as much as you.
    Anyway, I hope you feel better~ ❤

Leave a Reply

