Sy Calaelen

Rebel Witch – Sun, Gods and More

6 Comments


Most Wiccan’s honour the moon, due to the old calender systems that used the lunar cycles when farming. This went back thousands of years, and thus was the back bone of the Gregorian calender we have today, I cover this a little later on my website which is under major construction. I honour the lunar cycle in my own special way, but most Pagan’s do not honour the sun, unless at the Summer Solstice. How many of you can honestly say they honour the sun as much as they honour the moon every 30 days?

I love the Goddess as much as most people, she is beautiful, life giving and mystical, but so is the God. Growing up I only knew of the Hebrew and Christian view of God and when I came across the Goddess I was excited! I never knew any Goddess could be be honoured, I just thought it was something the ancients did. I started to learn more from the books I had, and meeting other pagans solidified my belief in the Goddess. As time went on, I started to notice the Goddess was finally getting her place in the world back, but slowly the God was being put out. Most books today emphasise the Goddess 10 fold and mention the God as just her partner, who is honoured only a few times a year. That’s balance?

When I started to look into Egyptian, Roman, Greek and most recently Persian mythology I realised the Moon was not associated by the Goddess only. Everything back then was equal to a point, most pantheon’s were lead by their representation of the Almighty One who was usually shown as a male figure, but he had a partner and most stories told of the Gods and Goddesses showed how the Goddess was just as intellectual as her aide, except more magical and practical. These Goddesses walked side by side with their Godly husbands, whereas today the Goddess seems to walk ahead of the God. Maybe I’m just paranoid…

I honour both at the same time. When I came across the Goddess I was happy, but at the same time I started to learn more about the God, I came to know sides of him I never knew before and that made me glad. My balance is with both, not one over the other. Through them I’m learning about myself and it’s a magickal thing, I think like a man sometimes, but my decision making is definatley female, 😛

 

Here’s the video…. though is short and only a snippet, something tells me there is more…

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

6 thoughts on “Rebel Witch – Sun, Gods and More

  1. Yay, I love the God ;D Cernunnos is my patron God, he found me really. When I first started getting into paganism I had a dream about him and didn’t find out his name until a couple weeks later. I know Cernunnos is very popular tho, but he just came to me so I went with it. I really want to get a little statue of him and a stag shaped necklace/pendant to honor him ;p
    There are really so many Gods that do get ignored. Lugh/lammas is another God centered sabbat though. We should start a facebook group for the God or something? xD

  2. Ah! About that video you posted, it’s a documentary called Zeitgeist. I’m not so sure about where they got all the information on Horus and Mithras et.al with the exact birthdates and such, though I do know they are all sun gods. I love your blog!

  3. Hmm…I don’t wish to intrude, or to make any negative remarks, but as a Norse Pagan, here’s my big problem when it comes to understanding Wiccans – all this talk of “the” God versus “the” Goddess makes me nervous – there seems to be such a polarization going on here, and such a sharp division between the male and female.. In reality, I think it matters very little if an individual thinks like a man or like a woman, the main thing, very clearly, is that we all are HUman first and foremost, rather than man or woman or anything of the sort – Gender or religion doesn’t mix, the way I see it. And now that I think about it, I’ve never come across any historical tradition anywhere within the World (well, except Maria Gimbutas over in Lithuania, and some wiccans of the 20th century) who worshiped just “the” God or “the” Goddess… everyone else would very much agree that Hathor is as different an entity from Isis as she is from Bast, or that they all are individuals, over in the spirit World, same as we are, apparently… 🙂

    • That’s my point, and that’s why I had to stop being Wiccan. I just call myself pagan or spiritual as I honour the natural balance in all things, whether its male or female. I don’t care who I honour, as long as they understand I love them no matter what. A few of my friends have personally emailed a Dianic Wiccan, and to their surprise she never replies, and sadly I think its because they are men. It sucks… Ah well, as long as we keep ourselves positive nothing will tread on us.

Leave a Reply

