Sy Calaelen

My Secret Lifestyle Baffles You

1 Comment


When I’m at work I’m professional. I keep my private life a distance from my mind, even when on break I’m checking and replying to messages, tweets and emails, but I keep them quiet. No one needs to know my business, nor I theirs. What I do or what they do will not affect my life or vice versa. It sounds brutal, I know, but it’s very true.

Then again… Here lies the problem. I’m open and sociable on social networking sites, youtube and with friends who live miles away. To the people around me I’m a whole different person. I’m quiet, in my own world and only give an opinion if it has anything to do with my work. I’m a recluse most of the time, I refuse to let anyone in due to old emotional scars. I’ll happily talk to anyone, but the minute they ask basic questions like what music I’m into, or my religious path, or if I’m into the arts or how I grew up, a lot of people are taken back by my answers.

Here’s the lowdown of a normal monologue I have with the typical person (who is nosey and wants to find some kind of flaw, taking into consideration the ‘society’s stereotype’ of what I should be):

Hi I’m Sy. I grew up in a very large female dominated family. Most of my aunts were black, others white and more mixed race. Most the adults in my family seem to work within healthcare, so professionals ranging from medical lawyers, doctors, nurses, matrons, care assistants’ or sports trainers, and one lawyer who isn’t connected to meds in anyway shape or form.
From an early age I was enrolled into ballet, piano lessons, recorder lessons, brownies, samba band, swimming, singing lessons and dressmaking. On the side, the aunt I lived with who was head matron and midwife at the time was practically teaching me how to do dressings all the time… Practising on my dolls.
As time went on, I started to rebel, from the age of 4 I wanted to be a Playboy Bunny, marry Freddy Kruger or Silvester Stillone. My music taste changed from ‘Jesus loves the little children’ to ‘Highway to hell’. I became fascinated with drawing dead people (I actually drew them from what I thought was an archaeological POV). My writing became dark and punchy. I have 9 tattoos so far, had 5 piercings but now I have 4. Left the church, the Rabbi stopped seeing me too! Though he pops by to see if I’m willing to rejoin the ‘faith’ as a full time Jew and not a ‘Jew for Jesus’ aka Seventh Day Adventist.
My music taste is electronic, truthful, rocking and based on Heavy Metal and Hollywood Rock Glam.
I’m a witch, yoga lover (the whole lifestyle not just the stretching), old school ritual caster, angel fashionista, punchy tarot reader and magickal theorist. Book worm and film lover. – That’s just to label a few of the ‘layers’ within this Boho chick.

Do any of you have that problem? I mean, it’s not obvious that you’re a unique person, but it really shocks other folks who can’t believe you’re more hip than them. I don’t know how to react to that – any help? Anyhoo, whatever way you think of me, I guarantee your idea is kinda off…. Unless you happen to be in the process of getting to know me. All I can say about me is, I’m an onion, I have many layers. 😀

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “My Secret Lifestyle Baffles You

  1. The polytheism thing always throws people off when they start getting to know me.

Leave a Reply

