Sy Calaelen

Why on Earth ShazzyPBear?

1 Comment


This is just a quick post about my username and how it connects me to my spiritual life. To put it simply, I love Winnie the Pooh. Where I grew up, in the lush green fields of southern East Anglia we have a rich historical culture, and from a small child some children are taught about John Bunyan, the Saxons and Vikings, the Romans and archaeology. On top of that we are taught about conservation areas, and birds. I was lucky to go to one of my town’s oldest schools as a young girl, and I had a wonderful memory of reading club. Our headmistress was obsessed with making sure every child she cared for had the chance to escape with a good book, and it was her who opened my eyes to the world of Winnie. I had books, toys and teddy’s that were all themed. I’ve even gone as far as having a Pooh pencil case that was a gift only last year, floating in my bag everywhere I go.

Over centuries, many leaders have had names given to them, or titles added to their birth names, like Guru or Saint. For me, ShazzyPBear serves me well. It’s odd, yet quirky. I like the idea of having my old teen nickname of Shazzy added to my once ‘more magickal childhood’. I was escaping into different worlds before I knew it, so that’s a little reason as to why I have such a childish and odd username. Fun, magick, play, books. Meh, I’m just me =]

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “Why on Earth ShazzyPBear?

  1. I love your screen name its so cute!. Love Winniw The Pooh too, I really loved the Rabbit as a child.

Leave a Reply

