Sy Calaelen

I’ve Gone all Herbal Today! (Part 2)

1 Comment


I’m restocking my herb shelf! I’ve been meaning to for quite a while… I have a bad habit of knowing substitutions, so when I run out of one herb for a particular type of home remedy I just substitute it with another, and then the empty jar just gathers dust until that substitution runs out. I dry and store almost everything, not just herbs. I dry and store fruit, flowers, and roots and collect flower essences. A lot of people have asked where I get my herbs and I have two answers for that: 1 – I grow them myself… at my aunt’s house… even though she waters them and grows them… lol! 2 – I buy most of my herbs from G. Baldwin & Co.

G. Baldwin & Co. Have been supplying herbs, tinctures, herbal pills, soaps, essences and all sorts of holistic products since 1844, so I trust them a whole lot! Most of their products last a very long time, although the oldest product I have (and don’t use) is an old balm bought during the 60s. – Obviously I wasn’t born then (secretly I wish I was… Not fair!) – It belongs to my aunt. She has a habit of keeping hold of everything, which is nice. It still smells nice… waxy…. I dare not apply any to my lips… my skin will most probably melt off!

After a while I gave up updating my list as laziness and tiredness took over mind once I get into ‘work’ mode. I can’t do anything when work is almost 24/7 for very little money. I go in and out of these moments where I get up, make a list, and schedule to buy them in the near future. The day before yesterday I was on the phone with my CuppyCake and we had a great chat about herbs and natural medicine. Some things he corrected me on and recommended people to research and I would follow through with things he didn’t know. With his help I started adding more items to an herbal shopping list like Vitamin D capsules and various exotic fruits high in minerals that the body needs. I have told him of a few health problems that bug me a lot such as my migraines, which are not triggered by light or food.

I start out with a Retinal migraine… then it develops into the Basilar Artery migraine… If I’m at home I’m lucky to catch it as my lips will go numb first, then I have a sort of ‘fake’ stroke. Mine come on due to lack of sleep and stress.
Retinal Migraine
Another rare migraine, the retinal type starts with a temporary, partial, or complete loss of vision in one eye. It is followed by a dull ache behind that eye that may spread to the rest of the head.

Basilar Artery Migraine
This very rare form of migraine is accompanied by dizziness, confusion or lack of balance. It comes on suddenly and can result in fleeting visual disturbances, the inability to speak properly, ringing in the ears, and vomiting. Throbbing occurs in the back of the head. The basilar artery migraine is strongly related to hormonal influences and primarily strikes young adult women and adolescent girls; as sufferers age, the migraine with aura may replace the basilar artery type.

http://www.headaches.org/educational_modules/completeguide/migraine2.html

Herbs I use for migraines and other health benefitting properties are listed as below:

  • Feverfew
  • Tarragon
  • Parsley
  • Ginger
  • Meadowsweet
  • Elderflower
  • Sage
  • Willowbark
  • (Serbian) Ginseng
  • Corriander
  • Cinnamon
  • Cardamon
  • Pimento aka All Spice
  • German Chamomile
  • Angelica
  • Rose Root
  • Lady’s Mantle
  • Yarrow
  • Skullcap
  • Elecampane Root

The first 9 as far as I’ve experienced are great for migraines, and I either make a butter out of the first four or drink small cappuccino sized teas from them. For the ladies who get pain from erm… those rather female moments Lady’s Mantle, Yarrow and Skullcap are good to ease pain and make you feel more comfortable. Skullcap sadly is a herb that will be banned very soon in the EU so I’m stocking up! I have scheduled them for the 1st… Fingers crossed I buy ‘em!

Yeah right…. 😛

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “I’ve Gone all Herbal Today! (Part 2)

  1. I even have a friend somewhere, named “Yarrow” or Achillea in Latin… May you never run out of herbs, then..

Leave a Reply

