Sy Calaelen

My Vintage Looking Pocket Watch!

Leave a comment


I’m sorting through my vintage collection to really spruce up this season’s trends. I’ve been a fan of hippy chic since I was a child. Even my music collection of old rock records including The Doors, The Beatles and The Rolling Stones had an influence on how my mind worked. They portrayed what mood I was in, and first and foremost inspired me when drawing, playing dress up and chatting with my imaginary friends… or trying to communicate with Stephen the ghost.

Two days ago I had the itch. The itch to shop for something small and special, so I stuck on some classical music as I’d just closed Dracula for the umpteenth time. I was feeling rather Victorian… and I wanted something male to wear. I logged into eBay and started looking for clothes, but nothing stirred the butterflies within, but I didn’t give up. I typed in all sorts of keywords; Glasses, earrings, coats, jackets, lace, tea-cosy’s, sock (ew), britches… why? I was about to give up when I remembered seeing a model wearing a pocket watch in an old issue of Vogue. I typed in Pocket watch and a ton of designs popped up. Ahhhh eBay =]

I ended up coming back to this watch… not that it was affordable (by 95%) but it’s a standard design, delicate and vintage looking. I knew my new clothes would be able to keep a little something male about my person, even in the cutest dresses. So here’s my watch. What vintage finds have you come across, or the proud owner of?

My Pocket Watch

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

