Sy Calaelen

The Evolution of My Altars: Basic Altar

Leave a comment


This set up was used back in mid 2009, but since then it has changed. I like to photograph my altar and stick the pictures into my shadow journal just as a keepsake and reference to look at every so often. Do any of you do that? (If not I’m a total nut). This particular set up was small, and base on a Wiccan guideline. This was the 7th set up I’ve photographed and written about, and it was the only one that lasted the longest, until now as my current altar is pretty much permanent.

With each altar the tools you choose to adorn them are personal to you and the Lord and Lady,  so play around until you figure out something suits you. I always change the layout of an altar for two reasons; baby brother who is currently ‘touchy-feely’ and makes mess, and the other point depends on my mood when I shift my room around! (I do that a lot…)

So here’s a super old video… Timing has changed as the friend I refer to in this video is someone I’ll never acknowledge for the rest of my life as he turned out to be a liar and a nasty person. I washed my hands of him… (sorry I’m getting a little bothered… so onto the video!) Hehe!

Sy Calaelen\’s Altars – 2009

It had the following tools;

  • Black candle for the God
  • White candle for the Goddess
  • Red candle and holder for their bond and my blood (being me)
  • Salt for earth
  • Feather for air
  • Chalice for water and anointing myself
  • Blue bottle to hold Holy Water
  • Trinket which held my ritual jewellery
  • Little Saxon man who reminded me of being grounded
  • Fire sigil stone with pink melted wax and a rose quartz on the top (working spell at the time)
  • Red cloth, as I work with fire magick
  • Athame (which has now gone… it was taken and not given back)
  • Incense holder and incense (sandalwood – which i can’t live without)
  • Wand made from Elder bark.

My altar has changed as my spirituality has grown. I’m happy, as my altar is a visual representation of my thoguhts on this path.

Check back tomorrow to see another peek at another altar of mine.

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

