Sy Calaelen

Philosophical Slogans I Live By

3 Comments


The other day I was asked by a buddy of mine if I live by any philosophies and that question got me all excited. As a child, as most people, your parents, guardians, teachers and other adults of your life dominate you with ethics and morals that, in some cases you are supposed to acknowledge but take from the endless lists what you see fit. These codes live in the back of your mind, and even though you don’t take much notice when you’re a child, or a hormone infested teenager, you face situations which dig out these codes that ultimately conduct the way you get out of them. For me, I’m a bit of a prude; it’s cultural and personal. I don’t like discussing bogies with anyone. I cringe when ladies ask me about my monthlies (let alone men…). I’m okay talking about food, socks, underwear, sex (in non personal cases) and the imaginary lives of celebrities.

I have a few set ‘rules’ and thought it would be cool to share some of them with you, but what I want to know is what are your philosophies or slogans?

1-      An ye harm none, do what ye will – I live by this. I look at it in a broad sense. I don’t look at the whole rede anymore, but this line reaffirms that I am a spiritual being, I’m human and i must in most cases if not all live life positively. I can walk around with a big old hammer but I can’t hurt anyone. I won’t do magick on or for anyone in a negative way. I won’t hurt any living or dead thing. That’s a just statement me thinks… which leads me onto why I love and respect Buddhism and PETA so much.

2-      “Life is suffering” – Buddha; I love this statement. It’s true on so many levels. Life is crap, but it’s up to us to keep in motion and stay positive. I believe life starts to ‘fail’ once you leave your childhood behind. Sometimes that can be when you move out, or when problems in the family occur and you suddenly have to take charge, or when you get your first job… or… you get the picture. I became a figurative adult from the age of 8. My mum had a baby and I immediately had to move in with her, and be this little’s guys big sister. I left my childhood at my aunt’s house. From that day I’ve never been the same. The older sister, and to my two younger siblings ‘the fun/playtime mum’ and it’s tough. It makes me look at my life in retrospect. Through all the bad stuff that’s happened raising a toddler, a teenager and a child I can honestly say I’m okay. I live in the moment, or at least I try to, but life would be dull if I didn’t fight for something ‘better’ than the crap that is trying to be current.

3-      ‘Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero’ – Horace; True! It translates to ‘Seize the day and put no trust in tomorrow’. I used to be someone who whined all the time about being alone, about being ugly, being loveless, being weird, different, odd, misshapen and just a plain freak. I’ve learnt to accept my odd qualities, and in that learn to accept others, and their misconceptions about me. I love to make friends, but I don’t wait around for them. I don’t make promises or make expectations about people as I don’t know what the next five minutes will bring let alone what tomorrow will. I’ve recently looked at this slogan and I intend to use it when making new friends, as I’m naive and easily let down. I’m not sure why but it makes me feel strong in not caring so much about unattainable things.

4-      Where do I come from, and why am I here? – I love this, I’m not sure where it was first asked but it’s a simple question that raises eyebrows. It’s a question I’ll ask and search the answer for, for the rest of my life.

The last quote I was going to put is kind of rude, but it governs my approach to defining how I see lovemaking and sex. Anyhoo, I’m boring you, watch the video below. Stephen Fry is one of my favourite men in the entire world and that includes his best friend Hugh Laurie (House MD).

 

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

3 thoughts on “Philosophical Slogans I Live By

  1. I too have been thinking about the philosophy inherent in the phrase “Carpe Diem.” Even though its used by Ralph Lauren to flog his Rugby line of clothes, it’s more than a slogan, I think. You might be interested to see several approaches to reading and misreading Horaces Carpe Diem ode. I’ve just posted them on my blog.

    Thanks for your thoughts on the concept.

  2. I really enjoyed this its got me thinking now lol.I am gonna do one on my blog for you if you like as a response and it will probably be up by tomorrow.)O(

  3. I have finally done the response to you.I’m really sorry for the delay.I hope you enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

