Sy Calaelen

Okay… Pagan Youtube… It’s happening again…

9 Comments


I did a rant post a while back: https://sycalaelen.wordpress.com/2010/01/17/what-the-hell-happened-2/

I don’t know if any of you have noticed but the main thing people love to do when logging into Youtube is to watch videos that make you laugh, cry or inform you. On top of that, a lot of people have made friends, found love and gathered many haters. That’s the joy of the internet, not just Youtube. For me, I have made friends with a ton of people, and I still reach out to as many folks as I can. I make videos, which okay… aren’t the ‘coolest’ and neither am I the sort of person people would say, ‘Oh she’s hot, so I’m going to watch her.’

I like to talk about things that interest me and that’s part of my mission. To learn, to discuss and to cultivate my intellectual energies over time (my older videos make me cringe…… Oy vey!) I’m not on Youtube for the glamour, or the fame. Neither am I there to get as many subscribers as… ahem no worry. I’m there to be me and noting is going to change that. Over the past 23 months that I’ve been on Youtube, I seamlessly joined the Youtube Pagan community which was awesome. I’ve seen people come and go, due to money problems, lack of internet, family issues etc. I’ve seen people start out with great channels and brilliant videos only to log in later and find their channel gone or videos deleted. It sucks. I’ve made a ton of friends, some of which are buddies I’ve been given permission to ‘stalk’ via Facebook, and I’ve also had the pleasure of writing/reaching out to other pagans and ‘well-to-do’ pagans who never write back or give me a reply in any way.

I get that some people need attention, that’s fine, but once you film videos that people begin to appreciate, you’re kind of filming for our sakes too. That’s part of the invisible agreement aka common sense in structure of presentation. You film something, but if you want people to watch your videos, you kind of owe it to your subscribers’ to give some explanation before you disappear or delete your videos. Somewhere in there the word respect crops up, it goes back and forth.

There is a lot I would love to say, on certain topics, or ranting about how I’d love to be cool, sexy and savvy enough to attract more to my blog or channel, but my spirituality has taught me to be happy with what I do have at this very moment. That’s partly the reason why, if everyone randomly unsubbed from me, it wouldn’t make me flinch. I’d keep my videos up for my sake.

Now, I’m going to say names, but over the past 2 years I’ve only come across maybe 50 people who i respect and love wholeheartedly for being honest, and being themselves. These folks are the ones who I know are blessed with modesty and happiness. But there are others with ‘agendas’ and I’m not too keen on them. Either way… Stop deleting your videos without an explanation!

It leaves me in a slightly stale mood… ‘What happened?’ ‘Why?’ ‘Who am I going to watch now… no one is like him/her…?’ ‘Do they have a mental problem since I know how to detect it?’ – (I’m a healthcare assistant…)

I don’t know… ranting……… I just feel angry right now… Mantra time me thinks….

 

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

9 thoughts on “Okay… Pagan Youtube… It’s happening again…

  1. Love this! —-> ” you kind of owe it to your subscribers’ to give some explanation before you disappear or delete your videos. Somewhere in there the word respect crops up,”

  2. Hi there! I have to agree with you on this! I think that people owe it to there subscribers to film a short video on why they are leaving the YouTube community. Subscribers are the people who consistently watch your video’s and enjoy watching them so a simple “goodbye” video does seem appropriate. Thanks for writing this post, I have been thinking the same thing for several days now. On another note, I love watching your video’s! I find you very inspiring and deep rooted in your spirituality. You are so beautiful!! Sending you Love and Light sister!! Bright Blessings! -Jenn

    • Thank you =] (honestly… my vids make me squirm…)

      I love my subs, which is why I try to get around to everyone and say add me on facebook or follow me on twitter, that way I’m more personal with them. I’m there for friends, not fame.

  3. I agree! There are some people that I really liked and then one day poof! Gone! I think that you should keep your old videos up because they document who you are and where you’ve come from. But I guess if you’re a faker or trying to be someone you’re not or trying to be the person you think people will want to watch so you can have the most subscribers, then whatever. Peace out, that’s what I say.

  4. I totally agree with you.
    When I dont see a video from someone in a while I always try and go to their channel and ask if they are ok and after I have posted that message it seems that their channel has been deleted and I get worried about them. Especially when they delete their twitter and other accounts so you cant get in touch to make sure they are ok. It leaves me kind of confused as they always had good videos, didnt seem like they got haters and was always so happy and then they just disappear.

    • Some people just don’t want to receive help which is fine, and like I said some people leave due to issues outside in the real world. However what some people do, due to fame gain etc is just sad. People have to learn to love who you are, don’t force it on them.

  5. I agree with you fully.its really sad to see people who say there there for spiritual reasons to then go and delete there account because hey haven’t gotten enough views or subs and also the people who delete there accounts and set up new ones really annoy me as well so i just stop following them because its just irritating when they do it 3 or 4 times in a year it comes across as attention seeking to me lol and I’ve noticed that the people who do it are the people whose views are going down so they delete there account set up a new one for a “fresh” start and then there views are up and then when they drop again they do the same thing only to repeat themselves thankfully you and a few others have not gone down that road because you are true to yourselves )O(

Leave a Reply

