Sy Calaelen

I’m Not a Tomboy I’m a Guys Gal

1 Comment


I was watching a clip of Loose Women today and Carol McGiffen mentioned how some women/girls are brought up with the ‘fairy-tail notion’, when discussing if girls should continue with mix gender schools or not… And a load of other subjects to do with girls maturity and how they react to boys and education etc. It got me thinking.

I went to mixed schools all my life, and film school was the same. I had a tendency to hang out with the guys more than the girls, and to this day I’d go to the boys corner to talk movies, comics, rugby and other ‘manly’ stuff. I get in depth when having conversations with fellas on almost any subject, and 9 times out of 10 most guys will call me their best girl friend (as in the one who helps buy clothes when they don’t want their girlfriend there to mock them (you know who you are… :P) ). I’m not sure why, but I guess it’s the lack of a father when I was very young, that kind of spurred the psychological notion to ‘be one of the lads – with boobs’, except I hung out with them purely to be friends and learn things. I didn’t mind having friends who were girls, but I liked ‘real-down-to-earth’ girls, the ones who were similar to me. Clever, kind, flirty yet they held a high sense of pride and dignity with themselves, so other people just didn’t pay them any negative mind. Then came high school and let’s say it was shit… but I still managed to have roughly 20 guy friends in and out of school, with a small helping of 8 girl friends.

Girls are just too bitchy for me. Not to say that men don’t bitch, a scientific study was conducted two years ago (at some British university… I believe it was Cambridge) that showed 62% of men were more bitchy than women. Men just have this secretive talent…

I get on with guys more I’m afraid. One scenario that used to crop up almost every weekend and end in a nasty argument with the girls I’d go out with, was my ability to walk into a club, drink a fair amount, but not enough to get drunk, and be able to chat with various guys, get their numbers and form new friendships. Just a head’s up; I’m not fully celibate, but I don’t like to have sex or ‘share’ my girly bits with anyone (spiritual reasons… just ask if you’re curious). This used to piss some of the girls off as their only intention, like many bored young Brits do, was to get laid. End of. – That sort of makes my spiritual decision all the more stronger… I don’t want to catch anything, let alone be so well ‘used/stretched’ that there’ll be no emotional attachment and become damaged goods when I hit 30 (which will lead to a failed marriage, annoying teenage kids… blah blah blah).

When I think about love… well, I’ve never really known what I wanted in the One, or if I even believe in him which makes me seem like I don’t know what I want; it confuses me… I haven’t exactly grown up with role models in that area, and due to that, I know I want to live my life differently. I want to be a role model for the children I secretly want. I would like to know that life doesn’t end after the first divorce or that having many relationships is the only thing that makes me ‘whole’. I like being independent, but its nice to have a few friends to talk with every so often, even if they are men or women. I’m glad I went to mixed schools, I guess I have this sense of knowing what may be on a guys mind and how to spot a bitch in a crowd. Mixed schools rock, and they prepare you for a future full of diversity and difference.

Idk… Sy 😛

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “I’m Not a Tomboy I’m a Guys Gal

  1. Fab post, and I agree with you totally. I went to a catholic girls school briefly and also a mixed school, and can say the amount and drama and bitchiness, amd back-stabbing was just ridiculous at the all girls. I think mixed schools are important, parents say ”I don’t want my child to be flirting/dating at school” and that makes me laugh because some kids are gay/lesbian so a same-sex school won’t make an ounce of difference. It important to know how to interact with the opposite sex. I have girl friends, but am not close to them. I was never really interested in boys until I was like 19. I was never into make-up, flirting, shopping,bitching,ect. I liked science, reading, nature, watching X games. So I am definately a girly girl either.

Leave a Reply

