Sy Calaelen

My Top Ten Films of All Time (so far =])

3 Comments


I thought this would be a cool post, considering its a list in my journal that is updated annually. As most of you know, my heart lies in screen-writing and film (hence 3 wonderful years at film school… New York next me thinks…). I was browsing on Facebook when I came across a new blog entry from one of my fave writers and good friend, Leon Qualls – check his blog: http://leonacqualls.com/leons-news/top-10-films-time/ – twas inspiration that forged my skull’s written word… :* Ta!

 

I have studied film to the point where I have to watch a film once or twice just to get the story the second time around. I read film rather than feel out the storyline; by that I mean, I don’t sit and a watch a movie for the sake of just the story it entails, I read all of the elements that accompany the story side by side. For example, I’ll look at the colour of the scene, where the characters are positioned within the frame and from that know immediately what emotion the character is feeling, and the emotion the director wants you to feel. Just in case you don’t see the characters face (which gives away an obvious emotional language) you can look at how the director has set the sequence. Double whammy if you ask me! (Sorry… geeks note).

Some of these movies do have sentimental value to them, but I won’t into so much as to melt your brain, or burn a permanent look of disapproval on your faces 😛

10) Troy – I love Greek history… plus this film is brilliant! The effects, the costume, lighting and the cast were so well picked, that the whole motion of the film just works perfectly. If I’m feeling down, and need inspiration when I’m not in Spain I watch this to feel less lonely.

9) Battle Royale – Intense Japanese filming! I loved this movie so much I bought the book, the mangas’ and the second film. This film was recommended to me by an old school buddy, and we would talk about manga, anime and Japanese culture with each other all the time! (Watch it if you like mild horror and lots of blood)

8) The Devil Wears Prada – I love fashion, what can I say?

7) In the Loop – This film was recommended by a friend too. He got me into The Thick of It, which was the TV series on BBC2. The film was a continuation of the last series where MPs had to decide on war in the Middle East with the American Government. It’s an inside look at politics and how ‘the little people’ (advisors to MPs etc) are the ones who run the boat. Pure comedy.

“Climb the mountain of conflict? You sound like a Nazi Julie Andrews!”

6)  Sex and the City 2 – I’m a young girl trying to find her way, plus I can never make my mind up…

5) Girl, Interrupted – One of the best films

4) Coco Before Chanel – Pure brilliance! (The Audrey Toutou version as two versions were both shown at the Cannes Film Festival on the same day… ¬.¬)

3) Le fabuleux destin d’amélie Poulain – Oh my! Film and screenwriting mastery! I was intrigued by the iconic poster of Audrey Toutou’s face, with or without the spoon in hand. It was by chance that a selection of films were broadcast as ‘Summer time’ adverts for Sky Movies a while back where I caught a glimpse if the title. I immediately looked it up on Youtube and Amazon. Ordered the movie and a poster, and then switched back to the tube to watch several 10 minute instalments of the film. After watching it, I was in awe! (Or lust? Maybe that was just for Mathieu Kassovitz), but I assure you this film is a definite watch (and read… it’s all in French, but that’s one of my second languages).

It’s a unique story that tells the Fabulous Destiny of Amelie Poulain. Ever since she was a little child various things would happen to her, that doesn’t seem to have that much of an effect on her. A friend once told me, she could be based on a mildly autistic child, considering the death of her mother right in front of her; she didn’t flinch or change. Her life follows a journey of discovery when she meets a stranger, who is obsessed with a man with red shoes. A collection of passport sized photos is the trigger of the whole tale. Its one intriguing story, but I can’t go into too much detail as most people haven’t seen it. (Plus one is a late prezzie for one of my bff 😛 ) Anyhoo, watch the trailer here: (I’ve published a post on this film so click this link to view it… mind you it’s crap and old…)

2) The Hangover – AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!

1) Inglorious Basterds/Sin City/Watchmen/The Craft/Practical Magic (sorry I had to cheat here…) – no words can explain…

There are a ton more movies that I love, but these are my top 10 (or 14) that I just can’t live without!

What’s yours?

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

3 thoughts on “My Top Ten Films of All Time (so far =])

  1. YES BATTLE ROYALE! I love that movie! I didn’t like inglorious bastards though, I don’t really know why. My top 10 (at this very minute, it changes) are

    1. Garden State
    2. Hero
    3. Saving Private Ryan
    4. Stage Beauty
    5. Mulan
    6. Finding Neverland
    7. Tropic Thunder
    8. Pan’s Labryinth
    9. A Little Princess
    10. The Shawshank Redemption

  2. Pingback: My Top 15 Films of All Time – Update for 2012 « Harlequin.Days

Leave a Reply

