Sy Calaelen

Last Night’s Inspiration: Ovid

Leave a comment


Ovid Remedia Amoris 75-6

From the very outset I pray to You, Apollo, inventor of music and of all the healing arts, come to my aid and this undertaking; bless it with Your laurel.

I substituted the laurel with my yellow lemon scented candle and small pieces of short bread; I ran out of olive and sage. Early last night I asked Apollo to inspire me with my writing. I hadn’t touched my manuscript in a month as I came to a standstill and couldn’t think of anything to write. I did this small prayer written by Ovid, and it reminded me that I should try to relax. I don’t usually ask for anything in particular, but I just needed to get my mind of things.

I had a lovely lemon bath (I love lemons…) and then set up my large altar for a nice mantra meditation. My mala beads were the perfect addition whilst reciting mantra. I felt really relaxed, the same way I feel in child’s pose after a rigorous yoga session. I meditated for a while after the mantra was done, which I repeated 3x then grounded by halving the shortbread, giving half to Apollo and having the other half for myself. I sat on my bed, lit my muse candle and started to type. I didn’t stop for almost 2 hours! I managed to write another chapter with 4 mini sections, and edited a few other files too. I’m really hopeful about this book. I felt great after writing; my creative flow seemed to come back for a while. I didn’t go to bed until later, but I lay my head on the pillow feeling happier with myself, listening to music.

It’s weird, how the Gods just know when you’re feeling fine or feeling low. I just wanted to take some time out from thinking about Layla and Zach. When I go to the Gods about queries or problems they sit and listen to me. It just confirms that they are there, and that they listen.

I’ll bounce back soon folks! The funeral isn’t until Friday, but as I’m not able to go I’m writing a poem for him.

Just thought I’d share.

=]

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

