Sy Calaelen

Life Sucks Right Now…

2 Comments


Just checking in with you all. I’ve been super busy with work and planning the March 2011 give away contest. Some of you saw a sneak peak of the books I’m giving away a while back in an update video I did a while back.

New stuff has happened, both good and bad. My Kindle is more addictive than ever. I’ve been reading books by Pema Chodron, faster than I’d read any other book! Shopping has been lovely too. I went out a few times and bought some staple pieces that would carry me through until spring; I’m very happy =]

True Blood Series 3 has finally started over here in the UK, along with other shows I am guilty for loving deeply… 90210, Glee and one show I’m very proud to be a fan of, The Big Bang Theory.

Going back to Pema Chodron, she is a Buddhist nun and teacher. She is fantastic, and so far her book ‘Start Where You Are’ is a real eye opener and I recommend it to anyone who wants to feel real and be themselves.

In the comic book world, I’m checking out David Hine, so any of you who have anything by him let me know!

On a more personal note, late last year one of my good friends from upper school died of an aneurysm, but I didn’t get to go to the funeral. I pulled out an old picture of us and the gang together and lit a white candle and performed a small remembrance spell for her. Just as I was dealing with that, yesterday I got the news that yet another friend died. It makes me wonder how I’m supposed to deal with it. I don’t like to open up about my feelings as I’m so used to keeping them quiet, but I’m being brave, in a very brief way. Yesterday I cried for the first time over Layla as I didn’t last year November, I guess the shock of my friend made me crumble. What makes it worse, my mother and I don’t have a very formidable relationship so she didn’t give a fuck. I switched my phone to silent, saved my manuscript and turned the computer off.

I’m not sure what’s going to happen with my friend as he wasn’t here; he lives in Manchester. I just hope his family will be okay. I wonder what Pema Chodron or anyone else might say about death…

Oh well.

Pema Chodron

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Life Sucks Right Now…

  1. Aww you have to allow yourself to grieve, death is terribly sad but its a transition that we all have to make. For some earlier than others. Just allow yourself to grieve, and be in the moment, but try to remember that your friend doesn’t want you to feel down and depressed. Maybe try to take a while and sit and medidate and gather your thoughts, meditate and celebrate the life your friend had. I know what its like to have a mother that doesn’t give a fuck, mine is the Queen Bee of shit mothers. If you need anyone to talk to you can message me on youtube or facebook. You will be fine, it just takes time to heal.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss hun
    Please take all the time you need
    Hugs! Xxx

Leave a Reply

