Sy Calaelen

Spiritual Secrecy Blown Wide

1 Comment


Do you follow an oath of secrecy as a solitary practitioner or a member of a coven? Do you keep your practice secret? That’s the question I’m asking in my next video… just need to get my tired ass up and edit it!

Shh

Secrecy [ˈsiːkrɪsɪ]

n pl -cies

1. The state or quality of being secret

2. The state of keeping something secret

3. The ability or tendency to keep things secret

I don’t mind giving tips, talking about my life and path or discussing subjects that I’m curious about. That’s part of the beauty of vlogging and blogging, and you never really know who is going to say what when they’ve come across your page. You’re constantly on the path of the unknown. So… what about secrecy when you’re a spiritual person? You don’t have to be a Witch or a Wiccan to have secrets, but some other philosophies and principles do ask of you to understand the differences of secrecy when communing with the divine.

Many books will tell you that it’s an optional must to keep your practice secret for the sake of keeping yourself from harm, due to discrimination/hatred and other negative issues that can come your way, but not all negative impact can come from non-wiccans or non-pagans, you can still receive dislike from them too.

I keep secrets yet give some information. The lessons I learn, the magick I harbour or use is a personal thing and keeping secrets is a personal choice. The conversations I have with deity, the rituals I do for festivals, holy days and sabbats are kept secret. One person I know will possibly have the opportunity to see me do a full ritual one day, but that’s as far as its going. I like to keep my personal relationship with the divine a secret to a point. I’m happy to talk about some of the aspects of practise such as naming some of my patrons but for those of you who know me, I’ve never gone into detail about the practises I carry out when communing with them (although I kind of told a folks I used to ask Cerridwen and my muses to help with readings and writing – I never told you guys how). Some of the prayers/chants/mantras I do are kept secret, unless they are readily available, which is where books come in.

Most secret knowledge and practise is available from your local book store and the internet, so technically those ‘secrets’ aren’t secret anymore, that’s secrecy literally blown wide open to the public. Working out what you decide to be open about or keep secret is up to you, but look at various definitions and see which one works best for you. Note that once you decide on keeping something a secret, you may decide later that it shouldn’t be such as coming out the broom closet or sharing ritual layouts. Remember you’re human, setting limitations for yourself at first is a good way to keep you on a path, but after a while you’ll have to get rid of those limits and set your mind free once you’re fully grounded (with understanding and lessons).

When working with the divine, whether on your own in a group/coven you’ll notice small signs of the divine communicating with you, and you alone. When this happens, it’s up to you to tell one or many friends or even the world, but be careful in how you say what you want to say as some may see it as boastful or unbelievable. Teachings you may come across may also point out that such dealings with the divine mean you have to be smart and learn to keep your ego at bay. I have a small number of friends who live worldwide and close to me who I’m more than happy to debate and talk with as I love what they have to say about their practises or mine.

As for my future posts and videos? I hope to give you guys a sneak peek into some of the prayers and devotions I do, and the festivals I honour as time goes on. Keep a sharp eye folks, it’s a big world but what you do or say can make an impact.

Be wise folks, Em Hotep!

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “Spiritual Secrecy Blown Wide

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Spiritual Secrecy Blown Wide « Sy Calaelen's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

