Sy Calaelen

Broom Closet Cosyness

3 Comments


Googled: Broom Closet Wicca

This is a topic that raises many a question and debate in ones life, and definitely mine. It seems most people I know or see on YouTube are out and proud wiccans/pagans/witches etc, and that’s fab, but what I can’t stand from some people is the attitude it brings.

In my everyday life, I’ve been lucky enough to meet some rather.. ‘Quirky’ characters who not only are pagans to some degree, but they practise a way of life that is great for them and not for me. Other pagans can shove their out and out story down your throat, or they make it obvious they have ‘one over’ on you (when in reality they usually don’t when knowledge comes into play). Have you met any of these people? I just do what I do.

I’m just a human with magical abilities and a great brain for magical psychology (divination) and reading books. I’m not ‘the best witch on the block’ and neither do I want to be. I just want to be comfortable with myself and how I’ll live my life.

I’m not yet out and so far it hasn’t done me any harm. If anything it makes me strengthen my patience, waiting for the day where I’m living on my own or with a partner where the rules on my life come into play. I’ll be out then, and my God, no one will be allowed to say or do anything then. For the time being I have to be patient, out of respect for the ‘yummy mummies’ who constantly compare their Oxford/Cambridge pedigree children with me, and for the sake of my uber christian Aunts who will skin me alive before having heart attacks.

It sucks that I can’t just be me. Its annoying, its heart wrenching at times, it drives me crazy, but all I can do is wait. My mum knows I practise and believe in something other than the Christian God, but I am forbid from using incense sticks and she doesn’t respect my prayer time. She’s okay otherwise (I pray when she and the kids aren’t around). I can perform Yoga, Pilates and meditation with ease (keeps my sister fit too), but magick? Oh no!

Rituals that I perform are either in hotel rooms, at a friends house or in my room when the kids aren’t around. I don’t get much time to myself but the precious moments I do, I tighten my breeches and read.

I can’t give advice, I don’t feel I should. For now the saying ‘Knowledge is power’ is my therapy. It doesn’t matter if your in or out, what’s important is what you know and what you believe, that’s what matters. Hold that in your heart and believe me life will be better.

Sy 🙂

 

Video Responses So Far (VR)

MoonGatherer

 

IsisPriestess

 

 

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

3 thoughts on “Broom Closet Cosyness

  1. Blah, my parents are like that. Christianity is the “only way” to them, I’m pretty sure. I have my own room and I can lock my door though, so I can do pretty much whatever I want without them knowing. My mom doesn’t like incense though, and I have a pet bird so I only light incense or candles with my windows open. I go have an altar on a clothes dresser next to my desk, but it’s just a couple candles and some crystals etc. A little after I put it up my siblings joked I was doing voodoo, I was like “yeah uh huh” and they don’t really care about it much. I have no idea if my parents are suspicious or anything, but I am not telling them I’m pagan. I’ll wait until I move out if I ever do tell them, but I don’t really mind. It’s just one part of me, it’s not everything and I really consider it very personal. I don’t mind telling anyone aside from my family I’m a pagan, but I don’t really like talking too much about my beliefs, because they’re so personal to me. So, being “in the broom closet” doesn’t bother me at all. Keeping it a secret is a little annoying sometimes, but not that difficult.

  2. I have been extremely lucky in my life as far as this subject’s concerned. When I decided to leave the “broom closet” I first came out to some very open-minded close friends. When I opened up at work about it, the women (mostly Catholic) were cool with it.

    I think part of the reason that I’ve had it fairly easy is that I’m not a “flaming pagan”. I’m open, and anybody that wants to ask questions can do so, and I’ll answer. But I’m not in anyone’s face about it. I had enough of that with having a grandmother that’s Jehovah’s Witness.

    I live my life the way I see fit, and I let others do their own thing. Except for one rabid born-again family member, I haven’t had many problems with religious persecution. And that rabid family member? Well, he’s easy to ignore.

    I don’t think that anyone should dictate how you should live your life. For some people, it’s just not possible in their situation to be as open and “out” as they’d like to be. Discretion is not wrong, it’s just different. Here’s hoping that in the New Year, we can all simply live – honestly.

  3. It can be pretty rough to be out, depending on your situation. I often encourage pagans who can come out to do so, but some people are really in a situation where important aspects of their life – such as their job or their children’s welfare – is at stake, and they simply can’t. And I respect the decision of these people to stay quiet. My hope is that the more of us who can come out without devastating repercussions do so because it’ll make it easier for those in more desperate circumstances to have a shot at living out. The more other people meet pagans, the more they’ll see that there’s nothing strange about us and the more we’ll be accepted into society.

    But being out doesn’t have to mean “totally in everyone’s face about it.” And it doesn’t have to mean out to everybody. I haven’t told my aunt (my mother requested I not tell her über-conservative sister, and I agreed out of respect for my Mum) nor my grandmother (because the cons outweigh the pros on that one).

    Overall, it isn’t my job or anybody else’s to tell somebody else how to live their lives or to look down on them for doing what they feel the must. We’re all just trying to be the best people we know how to be, and that’s the important part.

Leave a Reply

