Sy Calaelen

Making Your Own Oil Blends

1 Comment


Making my own essential oils blends is fun. It opens my mind to various kinds of oils, recipes and custom and traditional blends from all over the world. I’m inspired by the vegetation available from Greece, Italy and Egypt when making blends for my yearly celebrations, devotions, readings, baths, sabbats and rituals. Due to several books I learnt the basics of a blending kit, and here is what you will need if you want to make your own blends:

Base Oils

When blending oils, the base oil acts as a carrier that holds the scent of the oils without having to use all of your oil. Another plus, base oils don’t have that much of a scent and it keeps your oils fresh for quite a while. For me the best carrier oils are sweet almond and jojoba. The best oils to use as a base are –

  • Sweet Almond Oil
  • Jojoba oil
  • Safflower oil
  • Sunflower oil
  • Coconut oil
  • Grapeseed oil
  • Hazelnut (great for making flower infusions, but give a hint of nut)
  • Apricot Kernel oil

Measuring Equipment

You’ll need to measure levels of oil when blending, or using oils in other herbal recipes, so some of the tools you’ll need are –

  • Brown/Blue bottles (dark bottles are used to keep the scent fresh as direct sunlight will ultimately cook the oil and make the scent go off)
  • Measuring jug/jar/cup/spoon
  • Bowl
  • Eyedropper (optional)

It is also very important to have sticky labels, pens, paper, a journal/diary of some kind to do record keeping and paper towels to keep the area clean. When I keep record I go all the way, detailing a shopping list, how to lists, stock keeping and recopies’ I make myself or find in books or the internet. I write everything down. I don’t know how many of you have seen Perfume: Story of a Murderer but the scene where Giuseppe Baldini  wafts the scented handkerchief under his nose was an old form of making decisions on making perfumes. I have a small handkerchief that’s washed a lot, just so I can make those decisions myself.

Essential Oils and Blended Oils – What the Diff?

The difference between the two is obvious; one is made from the extract thus creating essential (extracted) oil, the other is a blend of one or more essential oils mixed with a carrier and sometimes Vitamin E. Most massage oils have Vitamin E, as it’s great for the skin and helps soothe dryness and reduces redness to some degree. It’s best not to put essential oils straight onto the skin as some oils can irritate you. One oil I use a lot, but I use very little of is Frankincense. It’s such a powerful scent, and you would be tempted to use a lot of it when blending oils, or using it for massage. The main reason why you shouldn’t use too much is, it is quite a harsh plant and will make you itch or in one case cause a burning sensation. Imagine rubbing chilli on your privates… yeah – not nice! The other main reason… its costs a lot, so don’t go using it all the time.

Make sure you read the label thoroughly when purchasing/using oils when blending. If, you use a massage/blended oil in the creation of your own blending oils, buy a carrier that the oils have already been used with. For example, some oils have been mixed with Grapeseed and Vitamin E, so buy a carrier of Grapeseed, try not to mix the Grapeseed blend with sweet almond, the oil will go off quicker.

In a video which I was supposed to upload yesterday, I made 3 oils for friends I love. I felt inspired to make them (and a few more, but I’ll let you folks know by January). With my ability to read cards, it’s easy for me to pick up an idea on what kind of blend I’ll make for individuals. I don’t sell my oils via a website as I don’t make that many products and I’m far too busy to keep it in control. This past year I made a bunch of soaps, blended oils and 175 lip balms for a friend who was getting married. Each of her guests went home with the balms, bath salts and a few even bought the soaps. I didn’t expect much in money, but I was handed a very handsome sum (which I’m not allowed to spend… yet :P)

The more you get used to oils, their individual scents and personalities, the better you’ll be at making your own. Believe me, it’s so much fun!

=]

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “Making Your Own Oil Blends

  1. Pingback: Sy’s Herbal Corner:: Pagan-Magic Oil Blends « Sy Calaelen's Blog

Leave a Reply

