Sy Calaelen

Fashion Fix: Dr. Marten’s

2 Comments


I love Dr. Marten’s, and have done since I was a little kid. I memorised the Sex Pistols album from the tender age of 6, and knew In Utero by Nirvana inside and out by the time I was 7. The early 90s was my starting point for musical influence that grew later on in life. I meditate to The Killers, Holst, Mozart, Beethoven and Maya Fiennes to name a few. I dance and choose clothes depending on the mood I’m in when listening to the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s, The Horrors and The Doors. I’m a free spirit when the right lyrics are streaming in my head.

Clothes on the other hand are essential to me, they are aesthetic peices that give away part of my personality to the unknown world. I wear a pentacle, not for the sake of rubbing Wicca/Witchcraft into the face of others, I wear it as a symbol of my pride and because it looks cute. I have tattoos, rings, long legs and natural hair without the chemical stuff to give people a glimpse into my grounded life.

I’ve owned 3 pairs of DMs from the age of 13 and up, but the last pair I have are black and size 5… my feet have grown since. I may have to buy another pair, they are aren’t just comfortable, but I feel big in them, they also look sexy with a nice princess dress… My clothes, my attitude and my music isn’t mainstream, and neither should yours. we are all individuals with a message to share. That’s what I take pride in.

 

Anyhoo, check this video out, its a great run down of the history of these iconic boots 😛

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Fashion Fix: Dr. Marten’s

  1. I’m a fan of The Who to the extent that I met my husband in a chatroom for that amazing band. Noone wears Doc Martens like Pete Townshend! Whooo Hoooooo Windmill Windmill Jump Smash Guitar!

  2. Pete Townsend is a LEGEND!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

