Sy Calaelen

Glued: The Pillars of the Earth

1 Comment


The Pillars of the Earth

Randomly written review… not sure, you decide!

This book or the TV Drama, which will be out on DVD soon, will captivate you from the start. I’ve only recently bought the book and so far I’ve read up to page 44 and I love it. The final episode of what I believe is Series 1 has just ended this past Saturday and it is killing me, but I’ve pre-ordered it for my own enjoyment. I’m a History geek and I love epic dramas and films, especially when they have been produced by Scott Free, who as most people should know consists of two of the world’s greatest directors, brothers Ridley and Tony Scott (Alien, Kingdom of Heaven, Gladiator etc.) This drama series was directed by Sergio Mimica-Gezzan, with an all star cast and some of my favourite actors, but heres the cast from the title sequence: Rufus Sewell, Ian Mcshane, Matthew Macfadyen, Eddie Redmayne, Hayley Atwell, Sarah Parish, Natalia Wörner, Anatole Taubman, John Pielmeier, Robert Bathhurst, Clive Wood, Sam Claflin, Liam Garrigan, David Oakes, Götz Otto, Tony Curran, Donald Sutherland with Alison Pill and Gordon Pinsent. – wow huh?

The Pillars of the Earth is a historical novel by Ken Follett published in 1989 about the building of a cathedral in the fictional town of Kingsbridge, England. It is set in the middle of the 12th century, primarily during the time sometimes called the Anarchy, between the time of the sinking of the White Ship and the murder of Thomas Becket. The book traces the development of Gothic architecture out of the preceding Romanesque architecture and the fortunes of the Kingsbridgepriory against the backdrop of actual historical events of the time. – Wikipedia

I’ve been watching this TV drama for the past few weeks and gosh… it gets worse for the good characters every week! Seriously, most stories consist of good things happening to the bad characters, only to be overthrown later on by the good folk. Usually the story ends in two good ways; the hero dies saving the day/town/country etc and the second, the good folk just get it all back. This story is immense and brilliantly written. You are taken through a portal of good that gets bad, then bad that gets worse, then worse that borderlines suicide but you just hang on to the hope of something better, only to close to the light and ripped back again.

It is brilliant… You are on an emotional rollercoaster one minute feeling good about the good characters like Jack Jackson, his mother and Tom Builder, only to feel sad about the deaths, the battles and the loss of the cathedral. It’s a story of miracles, ambition and truth. I don’t know how many times I’ll say how much I love it, but I do… I get choked up a good 3 or 4 times per episode! How about that?

I won’t go into detail about the story as I know I’ll slip up and tell you guys everything… check it out elsewhere for now, but seriously if you missed the TV series then borrow it from your local library when it comes out, or buy the book, either way, don’t miss it! If Oprah says it’s her book of 2007, then it s damn good book!

I read a lot of books, but I only have a list that’s quite small, consisting of books I truly love and adore such as Dracula, The Vampire Lestat, Frankenstein, Don Juan, Shanghai Baby and anything by Dan Brown. The Pillars of the Earth is definitely one of those books, and I highly recommend it to anyone.

What are you waiting for?

For now enjoy the YouTube video,

Until next time, Sy x

 

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “Glued: The Pillars of the Earth

  1. Read this book back in 1990 not long after it was first published. One of my favorites at the time. I have also read “World Without End”, published in 2007, which is the sequel and enjoyed it also. Don’t usually read this kind of book any more because of the injustice that seems to go on and on through out the entire story, but that’s just due to my age and the many years of the true life injustice I have seen and lived through. It is a good read for a younger person, well written with lots of history. I recommend it to any who enjoys this kind of novel.

Leave a Reply

