Sy Calaelen

The Importance of Tattoos…

2 Comments


… For me anyway.

A lot of folks don’t like tattoos full stop. It could stem from some of the art that is chosen can seem scary to the untrained eye/mind, for example, skulls. Skulls mean all sorts of things, what do they mean to you? Death? Destruction? The end? Or do you view skulls in their metaphorical reasoning for a new beginning? Or death is not the end? I have 3 skulls tattooed on my body and they all have their significant meanings. They are based on the Day of the Dead skulls, which were decorated and given food, sweets and drink in honour of remembering loved ones who have passed. As the veil thins around Oct 31st and Nov 5 its believed to my fathers family’s tradition, that the spirits walk the earth for some time and they ‘eat/drink’ the food we leave for them. Each skull can be decorated in any way you like.

When my Grandfather died, I was given a sugar skull to decorate and I glued 2 roses to either side of the cranium. I copied my abuela in drawing flowers around the sockets. Later on that day it broke because I was chasing my uncle and I tripped. Having this skull on my shoulder is a reminder of that time.

I have 2 more skulls, similar to the theatre masks. The smiling one and the sad one. Both to celebrate life and death, hence why I want Carpe Diem joining the two. Originally, one of the skulls was for my Dad, but I want to do something different.

19 days after my 18th birthday I got my second tattoo which was the Om symbol to symbolise my electic lifestyle, I added the wings a year later to symbolise freedom and how much I crave it and love it. The Theban texts and my initials in Elvish came together, 2 years ago to keep my ‘magickal’ life secret, knowing only particular individuals will know about their alphabet. It was curiosity that kept me going, especially as I view tattoos as art.

I love tattoos, they are symbolic to the beholder, but there are still folks who hate them just because they are ‘odd’ or associated with criminals, like the men from the time before the 1920s. – that paragraph makes no sense… Sorry!

Anyhoo, some people don’t like them due to the look of them or where they are placed. Some views, like how some men don’t want the mother of their children to have too many tattoos. I get that, but even then they are special.

I could go into the history of tattoos and degrade women and then turn it all around only to say how women can be super sexy with them… Blah blah blah… I am not gonna melt your brains!

I love tattoos, they are great, but I hate when I hear stories of individuals who get tattoos and regret them later as they got them by choosing them of the wall in the studio. A few friends of mine who run a very productive shop on the coast actually turn people away who walk in and just pick a design for the sake of getting a tattoo.

I’m sorry, but I’m all me. Love me, my tattoos, my life and spirituality. Hehe!

Here’s mine:

SySy +_+

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Tattoos…

  1. I love tattoos~
    I really like them when they’re done well, I don’t like “generic/cliche” tattoos. I think I posted this on one of your other entries…But If I could get a tattoo from this guy, I would http://www.nikkohurtado.com/index.php He’s the best artist I’ve ever seen.
    If/when I get any, I want a tree of life with a butterfly. Celtic knotwork style, but realistic looking. I’m not sure where I’d get it though. I want it somewhere that I could see it easily, not on my back or somewhere like that.

    • Nikko rules! hehe!

      That would be a cool design, my advice is check out websites and go ask to see their portfolios. A friend of mine did a ton of research and ended up in New York to get a tattoo from his old school friend, Thomas Hooper, he is well known which is cool. Tattoos are lush 0.0

Leave a Reply

