Sy Calaelen

My Muse Candle – Make Your Own!

3 Comments


My Working Muse Candle

I was supposed to post this forever-ago!

Some of us may know, a working candle is a tool used to inspire and keep us focused on projects and spell casting. I have a working candle for almost anything. When I do readings, I have a purple candle that burns when I asked Cerridwen to guide my mind’s eye. These days as I’m sticking to Egyptian, Greek and Roman pantheons I have found Apollo is the perfect guide for me, so now I use a purple candle for tarot, but yellow for any other readings in honour of him. I’m quite a creative person, and as I’ve mentioned so many times before (to the point of inducing headaches or boredom), I love to write.

The working candle I use when I’m writing, drawing or doodling with a pencil was a standard white pillar candle. It was nice, as it focused my attention on the work at hand. Just like many other candles before it, it burnt down until it couldn’t burn anymore. To be honest, there was something lacking and the standard white candle was just too boring after a while. I like colour, vibrancy and tons of flavour in all things.

A few months back, I came across this video from a renowned healer, Helen Demetriou. Based in the lush Cyprus she made a small how to on making, charging and consecrating your own working candle. I loved the video and I had to make my own ‘Helen styled’ working candle. Around about the same time, I was getting deeper into Greek lore and paganism and came across a modern chant used when you want the muses to give you inspiration. Weirdly… this chant seems like the one from Charmed but I’m not gonna go digging through my box sets to find out.

Combining the chant below, with my new candle gave it the extra punch it needed.

Helen’s Videos

I used 2 essential and 3 different herbs to promote creativity, psychic awareness and spiritual strength. The basil didn’t stick so I made them look pretty at the top, hehe! Lazy ass!

After charging and consecrating it, following the instructions in the video, I then sat it in sunlight and moonlight to charge it a little more. Each and every time I sit down to write, I say the following chant:

Muse of Art,

Muse of Sound,

Muse of thought, gather round.

I summon your power,

your guiding light.

Guide my hands in this creative rite.

Ah, I thought I’d share!

Ps. Watch Helen, she is a darling!

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

3 thoughts on “My Muse Candle – Make Your Own!

  1. Love this!
    Weird as im reading up on connecting to muses
    I’m gonna try this one oot! 🙂 x

  2. Loved it! Helen is awesome isn’t she! I have learned a lot from her!

Leave a Reply

