Sy Calaelen

Dare to go Beyond the Circle?

2 Comments


Firstly, check out Spirited: Taking Paganism Beyond the Circle by Gede Parma. Its a damn good read, and defiantly one for the shelf.

John William Waterhouse - The Magic Circle

The author, Gede takes you down the winding corridor of questions and practices that lurke outside the ‘pagan’ or ‘wiccan’ circle. He gets you thinking about various topics surrounding life as a pagan in general. Pagan ethics papers on sexism, LGBT, racism and the nasty keywords many pagan folk call each other like ‘fluffy bunny’ which personally is offensive and just plain rude, everyone learns something new everyday. I would never call someone a fluffy bunny just because they are new to the craft! They probably know more about herbs than I do and I’ve been practising for 10 years!

Over the next few weeks I’ll be asking folks random questions that surround ethics, religion, practise and other spiritual forms outside wicca. As my path continues to flourish I’ve come across the contradiction of authors and teachers telling you the evryday line ‘don’t worry about this or that, we won’t tell you what to do’ yet their books are full of instruction designed to focus the mind subconsciously. I don’t know what I’m going on about.

My point is, wicca is a structured religion that has been the foundation to my spiritual path. As I’ve gone about looking at other paths, as that’s what overall witchcraft and wicca teaches you to do, and I have found out so much. The only problem I seem to be having is not being able to call myself wiccan. Two paths in particular is Kemeticism and Hellenism. The two make it obvious that the female counterpart to magick is not the only way to feel and be magickal. Balance is the key, and as cliché as that sounds its true. I have become closer to the Goddess through the God and its a great feeling. When I flick back and forth through wicca books they are very Goddess orientated, and half the books don’t tell you anything new. Once you’ve read one, you’ve kinda read them all…

I will expand on these elements over time, so please stay tuned and share your thoughts 🙂

Yours in curiosity, Sy x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Dare to go Beyond the Circle?

  1. I loved your post!

    There are some books out there that focus more on the God/Lord rather than the Lady/Goddess. One in particular is “The Witches’ God” by Janet and Stewart Farrar.

    It is true that many, if not most of the books out there about Wicca are more Goddess oriented, almost as though they have to push the Goddess to the forefront due to the Male-dominant perspective that’s been propagated for so long by most of the main-stream religions.

    As far as calling someone “fluffy bunny”, I never refer to people new to the craft in that manner. I have used that term for the people that are simply using the title of “Wiccan” or “Witch” for shock purposes, or to garner attention for themselves. Then I will refer to them as “fluffy bunny Playgans”, because they’re not actually into the religious faith, they’re into the cos-play of it all.

    Sorry for getting all wordy, there, but I did want to tell you that I enjoyed your post, and will definitely be tuning back in. Thanks!
    http://breaaire.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

