Sy Calaelen

Avatar by Dominique Sample & Kyle Sutherland- Brave New Voices 2010

Leave a comment


I love being tagged on FBook. I was tagged for this beautiful piece of written work. I absolutely loved, and I just had to share it with you folks. Read on, and enjoy!

You may not have realized it yet, but I am a woman, therefore; I am enchanting
It happened before you were born
I danced choreographed waltz with the universe
I was very much a part of the original design

Once I was born
I worshipped you. I called you Goddess, sang priases,
you were my world.

I yielded my body as your playground
you were so young then,
mischievously playing in my puddles.

I called them oceans
staying safe in your jungle gyms and desert sandboxes.

Until you grew older
carved your vulgarities into my bones that I didn’t even know you knew.
What did you become?

Father taught me that everything female is less than male, she is a commodity,
a piece of meat, a patch of soil, I was just doing what I was taught
so I knock out her teeth
and used them as white picket fences
I am rage, I am war.

Man is to blame for the explusion from the Garden of Eden.

I am a woman defiled
shoreline mascara stencils my face ugly
I am robbed
you drilled me for all that I posess
cut down my trees
and still push against the trunk of my spine.

I thrust glorious
everywhere triumphant
she cries like hysterical city laughter
I have dominion over her
Body, will, and testament.

You don’t even look at me
You’re obsessed with industrial landscapes like my hills aren’t enough
These curves never satisfy your aesthetics.

This suppression writes itself on my knuckles
her heart swings like a broken birds wing
I pay no attention to her changing body
These scars tattoo her as highways- but I refuse to walk
So I use her

She never says no. (I never say no)

But I know he sees the misery written in my body

Stooping beneath the weight of my machines
her dying forest are my smoker’s lungs

Palms bulldoze my body, limp and lifeless
I am his road kill
his sky smothered in smog he binge drinks my blood
and complains when I’m pale.
You dig out my earth and I am desertified,
and empty.
You tell me I’m not the same woman you married like it’s my fault.

Cheating on her has always been about muffling the power of her core
dancing hurrricane warfare around fault lines
her volcano belly butterflies are about to erupt
these divorce papers are apocalyptic, I know this, but I still chase profit.

If you’re at all interested, I’ve began to name the effects of this abuse like countries
You can catch it on the news
Cause I an shaking…Haiti.
drowning New York in sulphur tears
my tidal tongue swallows Tibet
the blood around Louisiana has turned black
This hatred you infused scorches Zimbabwe’s forest DAILY.

Go ahead bitch, scream
Let’s hear you challenge the integrity of my cities with your wind
but how powerful are you really?

I am changing form, this process is unstoppable
I will smash you, end you if I sign these divorce papers.

And I am your destruction
But I will rebuild,
cause what you didn’t know,
my greatest mistake,
what I forgot to tell you,
I am the uproar of oppressed nations
And a revolution is long over due!
Let a man walk out on his woman
and watch the earth…quake.

Mwah x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

